Arizona Insurance Licensing State Requirements
Arizona Department of Insurance
How to Get Your Arizona Insurance License
1. Complete an Insurance Exam Prep Course
2. Pass Your Arizona Licensing Exam
After completing your exam prep course, you must pass a state licensing exam. Kaplan’s exam prep content is based directly on the Arizona licensing exams, so you will be prepared to pass the first time.
Exam Provider: Prometric
- Website: https://www.prometric.com/arizona/insurance
- Telephone Number: 800-853-5448
How should I prepare for exam day?
- The exam will be administered by computer; you are not required to have any computer experience or typing skills to take the exam.
- You should arrive at least 30 minutes before the exam appointment to sign in, verify your identification, and complete all security checks.
Acceptable IDs for required identification:
- Driver’s License
- State-Issued Identification Card
Military Identification Card
- IDs must contain both a current photo and signature (if not, you must present two identification cards: one with your photo and one with your signature).
- Exactly match the name used to register for the exam (including designations such as “Jr.” and “III”).
- For the state of Arizona, an NPN is used instead of a state license number. An NPN is a unique identifier assigned through the licensing application process used to track individuals and business entities on a national basis. The NPN is commonly used to replace a producer license number.
- All testing sessions are monitored during the exam, and they are video and audio recorded.
- You must not bring personal/unauthorized materials into the testing room include but not limited to:
- Cellular Telephones
- Recording Devices
- Photographic Equipment
- Compliance with all testing facility security measures is required.
- The examination contains four-option multiple-choice questions.
- The examination also contains experimental questions. These questions will:
- Be randomly distributed.
- Not be counted for nor against your final score.
- Not count against your time allotted for the test.
- Used on future exams based on performance.
How is the exam scored?
- There is a minimum passing score of 70%.
- At the end of your exam, your score will be shown on the screen, and you will receive a printed score report.
- If you pass, Prometric electronically notifies the Department of Insurance of test results within 48 hours.
- If you do NOT pass the exam, you must repeat the licensing process.
- Please Note: Arizona law permits a maximum of 4 attempts to pass an exam in a 12- month period. If you do not pass an exam after 4 attempts, you must wait one year after failing the fourth attempt before you are eligible to take the exam again.
How long is the exam?
|Exam Code||Line of Authority||Exam Time||Total Questions|
|13-31||Arizona Examination for Life Insurance Producer||2 hours||100 Questions|
|13-32||Arizona Examination for Accident and Health or Sickness Insurance Producer||2 Hours|
|13-34||Arizona Examination for Property and Casualty Insurance Producer||2 Hours 30 Minutes||150 Questions|
|13-36||Arizona Examination for Property and Casualty Insurance Adjuster||2 Hours 30 Minutes||150 Questions|
|13-41||Arizona Examination for Surplus Lines Insurance Broker||1 Hour||60 Questions|
|13-42||Arizona Examination for Property Insurance Producer||2 Hours||100 Questions|
|13-43||Arizona Examination for Casualty Insurance Produer||2 Hours||100 Questions|
|13-44||Arizona Examination for Personal Lines Insurance Producer||2 Hours||100 Questions|