Arizona Insurance Continuing Education State Requirements
On this page, you will find all of the state-specific information for Insurance CE in the state of Arizona.
Department of Insurance
Hours: Mondays - Fridays, 8AM - 4PM
Agents who hold a life insurance line of authority on January 1, 2018, and who desire to sell annuities must complete a one-time 4-hour annuity certification training course.
Long-Term Care Training
After completing the initial eight (8) hours of required training, producers who sell Long-Term Care policies must complete four (4) hours of ongoing long-term care training in each subsequent two-year period.
This state has issued a notice reminding licensees who sell flood insurance of their requirement to comply with the minimum 3 hours of training requirements established by FEMA and the National Flood Insurance Program.
All Other State Requirements
For license periods beginning before January 1, 2014, only Arizona resident producers who also hold a nonresident producer license in another state at any time during the expiring license period must complete 40 hours of insurance continuing education during the license period.
For license periods beginning on or after January 1, 2014, all Arizona resident producers must complete 48 hours of Arizona-approved insurance continuing education during every license period, which must include at least 6 hours of ethics training
unless exempt from the state’s insurance continuing education requirement.
The hours required are the same regardless if a single line or multi-line license is held.
This state has issued a notice reminding licensees who sell flood insurance of their requirement to comply with the minimum training requirements established by FEMA and the National Flood Insurance Program.
Non-resident licensees who comply with their home state requirements are exempt from Arizona CE. However, non-residents may be required to satisfy Arizona's Long-Term Care Training/Refresher and Flood Insurance Training (if your home state requires a state-specific course or has no requirements for either of these, taking an NAIC approved course may satisfy this).
Course repetition is not permitted within the compliance/renewal period.
Online certification exams are closed book. Course materials are not available while the exam is in progress. The final exam must be passed with a score of 70% or higher to receive CE credit. If the exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.
The proctor must be a Arizona licensed insurance producer or a person in the business of administering education or examinations.
CE requirements must be met every four years. Licenses are issued for four years and expire on the last day of the licensee’s birth month between three and four years from the date of issuance. Added license authority expires on the same date as existing authority.
No carryover is permitted.
Reports within 15 days. Need Agent’s license number to report.
Individuals who, upon renewal of their license, will have been licensed for less than one year.
Acceptable Training Methods
- Correspondence (Print)
- Online (Internet Delivery)
This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.
View our Arizona Total Access CE options:
Total Access CE
Recommended - 80+ Courses
Total Access CE from Kaplan Financial Education lets you take all the online continuing education courses you want for one price.
Life & Health
Total Access CE
Access to 45+ Courses
Total Access CE - Life & Health lets you take all the online continuing education courses you want for one price.
Property & Casualty
Total Access CE
Access to 50+ Courses
Total Access CE - Property & Casualty lets you take all the online continuing education courses you want for one price.