New Mexico Insurance Continuing Education State Requirements
On this page, you will find all of the state-specific information for Insurance CE in the state of New Mexico.
New Mexico Office of the Superintendent of Insurance
P.E.R.A. Building, Room 434
1120 Paseo de Peralta
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87501
PO Box 1269 Santa Fe, NM 87504
Phone: 505-827-4601 or 800-947-4722 (in NM)
Effective 4/21/2020, New Mexico Office of the Superintendent of Insurance is providing a one-time extension until the end of May to meet CE requirements.
Long-Term Care Training
Effective 11/13/2014: Producers holding a life and/or accident/health line of authority who plan to sell, solicit, or negotiate long-term care insurance must complete an initial 8-hour long-term care approved course. Agents must also complete an approved 4-hour long-term care refresher course every 24 months. The initial and on-going long-term care course credits count toward the agents’ CE requirement.
All Other State Requirements
Transcripts: Click Here for Link
All agents must complete 24 hours of CE biennially - including 3 hours of Ethics. A minimum of three hours of continuing education course hours for each compliance period must be earned through participation in a formal classroom or in another learning
format that permits the student to interact with a live instructor. Licensees are responsible for tracking this requirement and are subject to audit by the superintendent.
Agents selling flood insurance must complete a one-time 3-hour training course on flood insurance and the NFIP.
Non-residents are exempt from New Mexico CE requirements provided they are in compliance with their home state requirement. Nonresidents must file proof of home state compliance along with a CE filing fee by the CE compliance due date.
Courses may not be repeated within a 3-year period.
Online certification exams are closed book. Course materials are not available while the exam is in progress. The final exam must be passed with a score of 70% or higher to receive CE credit. If the exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.
Individual licensee's compliance date will be determined by the licensee's birth month and birth year, odd or even. CE requirements must be completed by the last day of the licensee's birth month every two years.
Carryover Criteria Requirements
Carryover of CE hours is not permitted.
Kaplan reports a student's course completion within 10 days of completion. Need Agent's NPN.
State Reporting Fees
The New Mexico Office of Superintendent of Insurance requires a course reporting fee of $1.00 per credit hour (online, self-study and classroom courses).
Individuals who have held their license for 25 consecutive years are exempt from CE requirements, but must submit a notarized statement to the New Mexico Public Regulation Commission attesting to the exemption, along with $15.
Acceptable Training Methods
- Online (Internet Delivery)
- Correspondence (Print)
- Company Seminars
- CBT/CD-ROM (Computer-Based Training)
This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.
View our New Mexico Total Access CE options:
Total Access CE
Recommended - 80+ Courses
Total Access CE from Kaplan Financial Education lets you take all the online continuing education courses you want for one price.
Life & Health
Total Access CE
Access to 45+ Courses
Total Access CE - Life & Health lets you take all the online continuing education courses you want for one price.
Property & Casualty
Total Access CE
Access to 50+ Courses
Total Access CE - Property & Casualty lets you take all the online continuing education courses you want for one price.