Effective 7/19/12, a producer licensed prior to 7/19/12 must complete a one-time, four- (4-) credit training course before 1/19/13 in order to sell annuity products. Producers licensed after 7/18/12 must complete the training prior to selling annuities.
This requirement, which is applicable to resident and non-resident producers, may also be satisfied by completing equivalent training in any state.
Long Term Care Partnership Program: Producers must complete a one-time 8-hour training course and complete 4 hours of ongoing training every 2-year license period.
All licensed producers who hold one or more of the major lines of authority will be required to complete a total of 24 hours of continuing education in the line of authority they are licensed in a two-year renewal period, including 3 hours of ethics. Licensees are exempt from continuing education for the first license period.
Insurance consultants and brokers shall be required to complete 21 hours of continuing education and 3 hours of approved continuing education activities on insurance industry ethics.
Nebraska has issued a notice reminding licensees who sell flood insurance of their requirement to comply with the minimum training requirements established by FEMA and the National Flood Insurance Program. P&C producers who sell flood insurance are reminded to comply with the FEMA one-time, 3-hour training class by their next renewal.
Course repetition is not permitted within the compliance/renewal period.
Online certification exams are closed book. Course materials are not available while the exam is in progress. The final exam must be passed with a score of 70% or higher to receive CE credit. If the exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.
Online exams must be monitored by a disinterested third party. A disinterested third party certifies that the licensee completed the exam without assistance (i.e., closed book, no tiling, layering of screens, etc.) and is someone who has no financial interest in the success or failure of the student’s ability to maintain their license. The monitor must complete the online Declaration of Compliance.
If the licensee launches the exam without a monitor present, he/she will be disqualified from receiving CE credit for the course. Completion of the Declaration of Compliance acknowledges understanding and adherence to the specific requirements outlined by the State Department of Insurance. The Declaration of Compliance is electronically transmitted to Kaplan upon completion of the exam and may be audited for compliance purposes.
Nebraska resident licensees must complete their CE requirements at least 45 days prior to the last day of his or her birth month, every two years.
Carryover of CE hours is not permitted.
For all completions prior to July 16, 2012, completions are reported by the student.
For all completions subsequent to July 15, 2012, completions are reported by the provider (Kaplan).
The Nebraska Department of Insurance requires a course reporting fee of $1.00 per credit hour (online, self-study, and classroom courses). This state reporting fee will be automatically charged to you (on the last credit card used in your account) each time you complete an online, self-study, or classroom course.
Individuals acting as instructors for continuing education courses receive the same amount of CE credit as his or her students receive for taking the class.
This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.