Coronavirus (COVID-19) Update: Kaplan’s top priorities are the health and safety of employees, students, customers, and the community. If you have individual concerns, please visit our FAQ page ».

Our Live Online, Live & OnDemand, and Self-Study Online insurance licensing solutions provide a safe and convenient learning environment for our students, customers, and community. Select Your State »

Idaho Insurance Licensing State Requirements

On this page, you will find all of the state-specific information for insurance licensing in the state of Idaho. This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the Idaho Department of Insurance, and we will do our very best to make the process of completing your licensing education requirements as simple as possible.

Idaho Department of Insurance

700 West State Street
P.O. Box 83720  
Boise, ID 83720-0043
Phone: 208-334-4250
Fax:  208-334-4398

Email: agent@doi.idaho.gov

COVID-19 Updates:

Effective 4/6/2020:

  • The Department is hereby implementing provisional resident producer licenses. A provisional resident producer license is valid for up to 6 months. They do not renew automatically at the end of the license period. Provisional resident producers cannot serve as the designated responsible producers for an agency. Applications for provisional resident producer licenses must use the paper application found on the Department's web site.
  • Applications for this do not have to submit a complete set of fingerprints to the Department with their application. They are required to disclose their criminal history though, and the Department may conduct alternative criminal background checks for applicants as needed. Provisional resident producer licenses use an alternative licensing examination. Information about this examination is available on the Department's web site. Applicants for this license type must obtain a suitable sponsor who is a licensed resident producer and who asumes responsibility for all actions of the provisional resident producer.
  • A holder of a provisional resident producer license may apply for a producer license. To do so, the holder must provide the Department with a copy of their pass slip from their PSI examination and their fingerprint receipt within 30 days of the withdrawal of this provisional order. The application procedure for a provisional producer license is identical to the application procedure for a standard producer license in all other respects. Holders of the provisional license are subject to the same statutes, regulations, and other laws that are applicable to holders of standard producer licenses.

How to Get Your Idaho Insurance License


1. Complete an Insurance Exam Prep Course

Those looking to earn an Idaho insurance license have a significantly higher chance of passing their licensing exam when they complete one of Kaplan’s exam prep courses. Give yourself the best chance to pass before you sit for the state exam. 

2. Pass Your Idaho Licensing Exam

After completing your Exam Prep course, you must pass a state licensing exam. Kaplan’s Exam Prep content is based directly on the Idaho licensing exams, so you will be prepared to pass the first time. 

Exam Provider: PSI

To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the PSI website at http://www.psiexams.com. To schedule an exam, contact PSI at http://www.psiexams.com or 800-733-9267.
Frequently Asked Questions About the Idaho Licensing Exam

After completing my Exam Prep, how should I prepare for exam day? 

Registering for the Exam

  • You do not need approval from the State of Idaho to take an examination.  
  • Complete the registration form online, at www.psiexams.com. On the homepage, “Create an account” can be found on the right-hand column under “New Users”; or completely fill out the PSI Registration Form and mail, email, or fax to PSI; or call (800) 733-9267 to register.
  • Must bring two forms of identification, which bear your signature. One of these must also have your photograph. Your name as shown during registration must exactly match the name on the photo I.D. used when checking in at the examination site.

  • PRIMARY IDENTIFICATION (with photo)
    • State Issued Driver’s License  
    • State Issued Identification Card  
    • US Government Issued Passport  
    • US Government Issued Military Identification Card
    • US Government Issued Alien Registration Card 
    • Canadian Government Issued ID
      • NOTE: ID must contain candidate’s photo, and be valid and unexpired.

  • SECONDARY IDENTIFICATION 
    • Credit Card (must be signed)
    • Social Security Card 
    • US Issued Birth Certificate with Raised Seal 
      • NOTE: Student ID and employment ID are NOT acceptable forms of identification
  • Please arrive 30 minutes prior to the appointment.
  • The fee is $60 for the 2 examination portions, regardless if you take 1 or both examination portions. 
  • Examination retakes are $60 for 1 or both examination portions. 
  • You may cancel and reschedule an examination appointment without forfeiting your fee if your cancellation notice is received 2 days before the scheduled examination date.
  • You will receive your results upon completion.
  • Upon passing the examination, your results will be transmitted daily to the Department.
  • Get your fingerprints taken. Fingerprints are valid for 6 months.
  • Candidates taking a major line examination and who fail any part will need to retake only the part that was failed. Both parts must be passed within 180 days (6 months) of passing one part of the exam. 
  • There is no limit on the number of attempts, but if a candidate fails to pass both portions of the examination within 180 days they will be required to retake all portions again.

Exam Day Security Procedures

  • You will have access to an online calculator. 
  • You will be given a piece of scratch paper and a pencil. 
    • These must be returned to the proctor at the end of your examination.
  • Candidates may take only approved items into the examination room.
  • All personal belongings of candidates should be placed in the secure storage provided at each site prior to entering the examination room.
    • Personal belongings include, but are not limited to: 
      • Electronic devices of any type, including cellular / mobile phones, recording devices, electronic watches, cameras, pagers, laptop computers, tablet computers (e.g., iPads), music players (e.g., iPods), smart watches, radios, or electronic games. 
      • Bulky or loose clothing or coats that could be used to conceal recording devices or notes.
        • Open sweaters, cardigans, shawls, scarves, hoodies, vests, jackets and coats are not permitted in the testing room.
        • In the event you are asked to remove the outerwear, appropriate attire, such as a shirt or blouse, should be worn underneath.
      • Hats or headgear not worn for religious reasons or as religious apparel, including hats, baseball caps, or visors.
      • Other personal items, including purses, notebooks, reference or reading material, briefcases, backpacks, wallets, pens, pencils, other writing devices, food, drinks, and good luck items.
      • Person(s) accompanying an examination candidate may not wait in the examination center, inside the building or on the building's property.
        • This applies to guests of any nature, including drivers, children, friends, family, colleagues or instructors. 
      • No smoking, eating, or drinking is allowed in the examination center.
      • During the check-in process, all candidates will be asked if they possess any prohibited items.
        • Candidates may also be asked to empty their pockets and turn them out for the proctor to ensure they are empty.
        • The proctor may also ask candidates to lift up the ends of their sleeves and the bottoms of their pant legs to ensure that notes or recording devices are not being hidden there. 
      • Proctors will also carefully inspect eyeglass frames, tie tacks, or any other apparel that could be used to harbor a recording device. Proctors will ask to inspect any such items in candidates’ pockets.
      • Once candidates have been seated and the examination begins, they may leave the examination room only to use the restroom, and only after obtaining permission from the proctor.
        • Candidate will not receive extra time to complete the examination.

What is the exam like? 
  • The examination will be administered via computer.
  • You will be using a mouse and computer keyboard.
  • You will be directed to a semiprivate testing station to take the examination.
  • When you are seated at the testing station, you will be prompted to confirm your name, identification number, and the examination for which you are registered.
  • Before you start your examination, an introductory tutorial is provided on the computer screen.
    • The time you spend on this tutorial, up to 15 minutes, DOES NOT count as part of your examination time.
    • Sample questions are included following the tutorial so that you may practice answering questions and reviewing your answers.
  • One question appears on the screen at a time.
  • During the examination, minutes remaining will be displayed at the top of the screen and updated as you record your answers.
  • After you have entered your responses, you will later be able to return to any question(s) and change your response, provided the examination time has not run out.
  • Comments may be entered by clicking the Comments link on the function bar of the test question screen. 
    • If a discrepancy is found during the comment review, PSI and the Department may re-evaluate candidates’ results and adjust them accordingly.
    • This is the only review of the examination available to candidates.
  • In addition to the number of examination items specified in the "Examination Content Outlines," a small number (5 to 10) of "experimental" questions may be administered to candidates during the examinations.
    • These questions will not be scored. However, these questions will count against examination time 

How is the exam scored?

Your score will be given to you immediately following completion of the examination.

Idaho Property Producer

Portion# of ItemsMinimum Passing ScoreTime Allowed
State1870% (13 correct)30 minutes
General6070% (42 correct)90 minutes
Both7870% (55 correct)120 minutes

Idaho Casualty Producer

Portion# of ItemsMinimum Passing ScoreTime Allowed
State2070% (14 correct)30 minutes
General6070% (42 correct)90 minutes
Both8070% (56 correct)120 minutes

Idaho Disability/Health Producer

Portion# of ItemsMinimum Passing ScoreTime Allowed
State2570% (18 correct)40 minutes
General6070% (42 correct)90 minutes
Both8570% (60 correct)130 minutes

Idaho Life Producer

Portion# of ItemsMinimum Passing ScoreTime Allowed
State2570% (18 correct)40 minutes
General6070% (42 correct)90 minutes
Both8570% (60 correct)130 minutes

Idaho Public Adjuster

# of ItemsMinimum Passing ScoreTime Allowed
5070% (35 correct)75 minutes

 

3. Get Fingerprinted

  • You MUST be fingerprinted at one of PSI test centers. You may get fingerprinted on the day of your examination or walk-in during the regular testing hours.
  • YOU CANNOT MAKE AN APPOINTMENT TO GET YOUR FINGERPRINTS DONE. THEY ARE DONE ON A FIRST COME, FIRST SERVE BASIS. 
  • The $70 processing fee is payable by money order, cashier’s check, company check, VISA or MasterCard (checks made payable to PSI).
  • This payment includes:
    • State processing fee of $40
    • PSI processing fee of $30
  • Fingerprints are taken digitally only at all the PSI test centers. 
  • Digital fingerprints will be transmitted electronically to law enforcement.
  • Fingerprints may take up to 6 weeks to process.
  • Fingerprints are valid for 6 months.

4. Apply for an Idaho Insurance License

Once you have passed your state licensing exam, you are ready to apply for an insurance license.

  • After you have passed your insurance examination and have been fingerprinted for the purpose of obtaining an insurance license your next step is to apply for the license online via www.sircon.com/idaho or www.nipr.com within 180 days of passing, and to pay state licensing fees of $80.
  • The license application fee is currently $80, regardless of the number of lines of authority for which the candidate has applied.
You will be assigned an NPN. This unique identifier is assigned through the licensing application process and is used to track individuals and business entities on a national basis. The NPN is used by many states to replace a producer license number.

Initial Producer Appointment/Affiliation
Before an insurance producer can act as an agent or representative of an insurance company, the insurer must file an appointment with the Department. The appointment must be filed no later than within fifteen (15) days from the date the first application for insurance is accepted by the carrier. Backdating of an appointment may not predate licensure. 

Note: If you are applying for an adjuster license, the age requirement is twenty-one (21) years of age; and be currently domiciled in and a bona fide resident

5. Plan to Complete Required Insurance Continuing Education (CE) Credits

Every insurance producer must adhere to their home state’s CE requirements. Stay on top of your CE and ahead of the competition with 365 days of unlimited course access when you enroll in a CE library with Kaplan. 

Learn how to renew an Idaho insurance license by clicking here.

Select a Line of Authority and Start Earning Your License Today:

Life & Health

This license qualifies you to explain, sell, and write life and health insurance products in Idaho.

 

Property & Casualty

This license qualifies you to sell products designed to protect from financial issues as a result of damage or injury in Idaho.

Personal Lines

This license qualifies you to sell a variety of insurance plans directly to consumers in Idaho.

 

Adjuster

This license qualifies you to investigate and adjust any claim in connection with an insurance policy in Idaho.