Maine Insurance Continuing Education State Requirements
On this page, you will find all of the state-specific information for Insurance CE in the state of Maine.
Department of Professional & Financial Regulation
Physical location (Private deliveries such as FedEx and UPS)
Transcripts: Search for licensee, CE Requirement will be listed at top of page (If blank, it could mean no requirement is due), scroll to bottom of page to see courses - Click Here for Link
Annuity Best Interest Training Requirement
A producer who engages in the sale of annuity products must complete a one-time, 4-credit training course approved by the Department of Insurance and provided by the Department of Insurance-approved education provider. Producers may not engage in the sale of annuities until the annuity training requirement has been completed.
- a new 4-credit annuity best interest training course approved by the Department of Insurance after the 1/1/2022 date; or
- an additional one-time, 1-credit annuity best interest training course approved by the Department of Insurance and provided by a Department of Insurance-approved education provider on appropriate sales practices and replacement and disclosure requirements.
Long-Term Care Training
Producers must complete an initial 8-hour training course prior to selling long-term care, and a 4-hour refresher course every 2 years thereafter. The training requirement applies to both resident and nonresident producers. Residents may earn CE credit if the training course was approved for CE.
All Other State Requirements
Maine resident licensees must complete 24 hours of continuing education credit every two years including 3 hours of ethics.
This state has issued a notice reminding licensees who sell flood insurance of their requirement to comply with the minimum training requirements established by FEMA and the National Flood Insurance Program.
Non-residents are exempt if they are in good standing in their home state, with the exception of LTC training requirements. The Department may verify good standing.
Course repetition is not permitted within the compliance/renewal period.
Online certification exams are closed book. Course materials are not available while the exam is in progress. The final exam must be passed with a score of 70% or higher to receive CE credit. If the exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.
Continuation date is the end of the licensee’s birth month biennially, in even or odd years. Licensees born in even years will have continuation dates in even years. Licensees born in odd years will have continuation dates in odd years.
Carryover of CE hours is not permitted.
Report within 30 days of completion. Need Agent’s license number beginning in ARR or PRR to report.
Individuals acting as instructors for continuing education courses receive the same amount of CE credit as his or her students receive for taking the class. They can only receive credit for teaching a course once in a 4-year period.
Acceptable Training Methods
- Online (Internet Delivery)
- Correspondence (Print)
- Company Seminars
- CBT/CD-ROM (Computer-Based Training)
This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.
View our Maine Total Access CE options:
Total Access CE
Recommended - 80+ Courses
Total Access CE from Kaplan Financial Education lets you take all the online continuing education courses you want for one price.
Life & Health
Total Access CE
Access to 45+ Courses
Total Access CE - Life & Health lets you take all the online continuing education courses you want for one price.
Property & Casualty
Total Access CE
Access to 50+ Courses
Total Access CE - Property & Casualty lets you take all the online continuing education courses you want for one price.