South Dakota Insurance Licensing State Requirements
On this page, you will find all of the state-specific information for Insurance Licensing in the state of South Dakota. This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for non-resident license information, please refer to the South Dakota Division of Insurance website at https://dlr.sd.gov/insurance/. Information is subject to change, and we will do our very best to make the process of completing your licensing education requirements as simple as possible.
South Dakota Division of Insurance
Testing centers have fully reopened in South Dakota and appropriate mitigation measures are in place. Therefore, the Division will not accept temporary insurance producer applications after September 11, 2020. Further, all existing temporary insurance producer licenses will terminate on the lesser of: 1. The time of automatic expiration of the temporary license (180 days after issuance); or 2. November 13, 2020. No renewals for temporary producer licenses are available regardless of the license issue date. No exceptions will be made. Any temporary license applications received after 9/11/2020 will be closed with no license issued.
Applications for temporary licenses will be available beginning April 20, 2020, and will be accepted until the COVID-19 emergency is concluded. The applicant must be a South Dakota resident otherwise qualified for a producer’s license if the applicable insurance examination was available. The applicant must complete a Temporary Producer License Application located on the Division’s website: dlr.sd.gov/insurance/producers/resident_producers_temp_licensing_info.aspx. The applicant must submit additional materials to supplement the application:
- A completed Responsible Licensed Producer Form designating the South Dakota licensed producer responsible for the applicant’s activities during the temporary license period;
- A copy of the applicant’s valid, acceptable form of identification;
- A check for $10.00; and
- Any additional information required by the application questions.
Temporary license applicants may only apply for insurance lines held by their Responsible Licensed Producer. Temporary licenses will automatically expire 180 days from the date of issue or 60 days after the COVID-19 emergency concludes, whichever is sooner. No exceptions will be made. Temporary licenses are not renewable and do not qualify for license reciprocity in any other state or jurisdiction. Temporary licensees must obtain company appointments and comply with the Insurance Code.
Temporary licensees may apply for a producer’s license once examination vendors have resumed operations. If an examination is passed and an application for a producer’s license is approved, the temporary license will terminate. The Division of Insurance will contact applicants and licensees when the COVID-19 emergency has concluded, at which time no further temporary licenses will be issued for this emergency.
The Division appreciates patience as applications for temporary licensure will be processed manually. It is important for applicants to be responsive to Division inquiries during this time to expedite processing. Questions regarding this process should be directed to Division of Insurance, at 605.773.3563 or Insurance@state.sd.us.
How to Get Your South Dakota Insurance License
1. Complete an Insurance Exam Prep Course
Those looking to earn a South Dakota insurance license have a significantly higher chance of passing their licensing exam when they complete one of Kaplan’s exam prep courses. Give yourself the best chance to pass before you sit for the state exam.
Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements
- The state of South Dakota does not require prelicensing education.
- Although prelicensing education is not required, due to the difficulty and nature of the exam, Kaplan highly recommends enrolling in a study course.
Acceptable Methods of Education
Adjuster License Requirements
The Texas Designated Home State (DHS) Adjuster license is available to an individual who is a resident of a state that does not license adjusters. This means you can obtain the Texas Property/Casualty Adjuster license just as a Texas resident adjuster would and complete the Texas bi-annual continuing education requirement. The Texas DHS Adjuster license is highly respected in the industry and can significantly enhance your credibility as an adjuster in your home state.
Kaplan’s online Property/Casualty Adjuster licensing course contains the actual state licensing exam for the Texas DHS Adjuster license; therefore, you can satisfy your Texas prelicensing requirement AND pass the Texas P/C Adjuster state licensing exam without having to leave your home or office. Upon completing the Kaplan course and successfully passing the exam, you can remotely apply for the Texas P/C Adjuster License using the procedures found on the Texas State Requirements page. This will qualify you to adjust in both your home state and numerous other states that accept the Texas DHS Adjuster license.
If you continue, please be aware that you will be taking Kaplan's online Texas Property/Casualty Adjuster course. Check with the Department of Insurance in your resident state and the states you wish to adjust to see how the Texas PC Adjuster license can be used in those states.
2. Pass Your South Dakota Licensing Exam
After completing your required exam prep course, you must pass a state licensing exam. Kaplan’s prelicensing/exam prep content is based directly on the South Dakota licensing exams, so you will be prepared to pass the first time.
Exam Provider: Pearson VUE
Frequently Asked Questions About the South Dakota Licensing Exam
After completing my exam prep, how should I prepare for exam day?
Online reservations are the most efficient way for candidates to schedule their examination. Candidates must go to www.pearsonvue.com/sd/insurance to make an online reservation for an examination. First-time users are required to create an account. The candidate will need to fill in all required fields, which are preceded by an asterisk (*), on the online form in order to create an ID and be assigned a password. Step-by-step instructions will lead the candidate through the rest of the examination reservation process. Our new website has been optimized to work on mobile devices such as phones and tablets as pictured below. Candidates must make an online reservation at least twenty-four (24) hours before the desired examination date.
Before making a reservation, candidates should have the following:
- Legal name
- E-mail address
- Social Security number
- Daytime telephone number
- Date of birth
- The name of the examination(s)
- The preferred examination date and test center location
Candidates should report to the test center at least fifteen (15) minutes before the examination begins to complete registration. Each candidate will leave the test center with an official score report in hand.
Candidate must present a valid and unexpired form of current identification. The primary identification must be government-issued and photo-bearing with a signature. Identification must be in English and exactly match the name you used to register for the exam.
Primary ID (photograph and signature, not expired)
- Government-issued Driver’s License
- U.S. Dept. of State Driver’s License
- U.S. Learner’s Permit (plastic card only with photo and signature)
- National/State/Country Identification Card
- Passport card
- Military ID
- Military ID for spouses and dependents
- Alien Registration Card (Green Card, Permanent Resident Visa)
If the ID presented has an embedded signature that is not visible (microchip), difficult or impossible to read, the candidate must present another form of identification from the Primary ID or Secondary ID that contains a visible signature. Pearson VUE does not recognize grace periods. For example, if a candidate’s driver’s license expired yesterday and the state allows a 30-day grace period for renewing the ID, the ID is considered to be expired.
What is the exam like?
The following policies are observed at each test center. Candidates who violate any of these policies will not be permitted to finish the examination and will be dismissed from the test center, forfeiting the examination fee.
- No personal items are allowed in the testing room. Personal items include but are not limited to:
- Cellular phones, hand-held computers or other electronic devices, pagers, watches, wallets, purses, firearms or other weapons, hats, bags, coats, books, and/or notes, pens or pencils.
- Candidates must store all personal items in a secure area as indicated by the administrator, or return items to their vehicle.
- All electronic devices must be turned off before storing them in a locker.
- The test center is not responsible for lost, stolen, or misplaced personal items.
- Studying is not allowed in the test center.
- Visitors, children, family or friends are not allowed in the test center.
- Dictionaries, books, papers (including scratch paper), and reference materials are not permitted in the examination room (unless permitted by the exam sponsor), and candidates are strongly urged not to bring such materials to the test center.
- Upon entering and being seated in the testing room, the test administrator will provide the candidate with materials to make notes or calculations and any other items specified by the exam sponsor. The candidate may not write on these items before the exam begins or remove these items from the testing room.
- A reader or recorder will be allowed for individuals with mobility or vision impairments and cannot read or write on their own.
- Eating, drinking, chewing gum, smoking, and/or making noise that creates a disturbance for other candidates is prohibited during the exam.
- Break policies are established by the exam sponsor. Most sponsors allow unscheduled breaks.
- To request an unscheduled break, the candidate must raise their hand to get the administrator’s attention.
- The exam clock will not stop while the candidate is taking a break.
- Candidates must leave the testing room for all breaks. However, candidates are not permitted to leave the floor or building for any reason during this time, unless specified by the administrator and the exam sponsor. If a candidate is discovered to have left the floor or building they will not be permitted to proceed with the examination and may forfeit the exam fees.
- While taking a break, candidates are permitted to access personal items that are being stored during the exam only if necessary—for example, personal medication that must be taken at a specific time. However, a candidate must receive permission from the administrator prior to accessing personal items that have been stored.
- Candidates are not allowed access to other items, including but not limited to, cellular phones, exam notes, and study guides, unless the exam sponsor specifically permits this.
- Any candidate discovered causing a disturbance of any kind or engaging in any kind of misconduct—giving or receiving help; using notes, books, or other aids; taking part in an act of impersonation; or removing examination materials or notes from the examination room—will be summarily dismissed from the examination and will be reported to the state licensing agency. Decisions regarding disciplinary measures are the responsibility of the state licensing agency
How is the exam scored?
The passing score for the examination is determined by the South Dakota Division of Insurance, which is a 70%. When candidates complete the examination, they will receive a score report marked “pass” or “fail.”
Candidates who fail the examination will receive a score report that includes a numeric score and diagnostic information relating to the general portion of the examination, as well as information about reexamination. Each examination is divided into two parts: the general section and the state section. Candidates who pass one section of the examination and fail the other need to retake the entire examination. Reservations for reexamination cannot be made at the test center. Candidates must wait 24 hours before making a reexamination reservation.
How long is the exam?
|Exam Code||Line of Authority||Exam Time||Total Questions|
|InsSD_Life41||SD Life Producer||2 Hours||90|
|InsSD_Health42||SD Accident & Health or Sickness Producer||2 Hours||90|
|InsSD_LAH45||SD Life, Accident & Health or Sickness Producer||2.5 Hours||145|
|InsSD_Prop43||SD Property Producer||2 Hours||90|
|InsSD_Cas44||SD Casualty Producer||2 Hours||90|
|InsSD_PropCas46||SD Property & Casualty Producer||2.5 Hours||145|
|InsSD_Pers53||SD Personal Lines Producer||2 Hours||101|
|InsSD_Crop50||SD Crop Producer||1 Hour||60|
|InsSD_BB49||SD Bail Bonds Producer||1 Hour||50|
3. Apply for a South Dakota Insurance License
Once you have passed your state licensing exam, you are ready to apply for an insurance license.
After passing the examination you must wait 2 days before applying online. After 2 days please apply online for your license online at Sircon’s Compliance Express, www.sircon.com/southdakota or to NIPR at www.nipr.com.
You will be assigned an NPN. This unique identifier is assigned through the licensing application process and is used to track individuals and business entities on a national basis. The NPN is used by many states to replace a producer license number.
4. Plan to Complete Required Insurance Continuing Education (CE) Credits
Every insurance producer must adhere to their home state’s CE requirements. Stay on top of your CE and ahead of the competition with 365 days of unlimited course access when you enroll in a CE library with Kaplan.
Learn how to renew South Dakota insurance license by clicking here.