Nevada Insurance Licensing State Requirements
On this page, you will find all of the state-specific information for Insurance Licensing in the state of Nevada. This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for non-resident license information,
please refer to the Nevada Division of Insurance website at http://doi.state.nv.us. Information is subject to change, and we will do our very best to make the process
of completing your licensing education requirements as simple as possible.
Nevada Department of Business and Industry
Division of Insurance
788 Fairview Drive, Suite 300
Carson City, Nevada 89701-5491
Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements
- Life - 20 Hours
- Health - 20 Hours
- Life and Health - 40 Hours
- Property - 20 Hours
- Casualty - 20 Hours
- Property and Casualty - 40 Hours
- Personal Lines - 20 Hours
Note: Above hours include the required 5 hours of Nevada Law.
Exam Provider: Pearson VUE
Exam Reservation Requirements
- All educational requirements must be completed before an examination can be reserved.
Acceptable Methods of Education
* In order for a certificate of completion to be earned and issued, the final exam for self-study courses must be monitored by a disinterested third party (someone other than a relative, friend, or business associate).
Certificate of Completion Requirements
- Applicant submits original certificate of completion to the Nevada Division of Insurance with license application.
- Certificates of completion are valid for two years from the date of course completion.
State Reporting Fees
The NV Department of Business and Industry, Division of Insurance, requires a course reporting fee of $4.00 per course (online, self-study and classroom courses). This state reporting fee will be automatically charged to you (on the last credit card used
in your account) each time you complete an online, self-study, or classroom course.
Exam and/or Prelicensing Education Exemptions
The following persons may be eligible for an exemption:
- Persons with at least 10 years employment with an insurer in underwriting or adjusting claims.
- Persons who have been licensed 10 out of the last 15 years.
This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.