106 E. 6th Avenue
Cheyenne, WY 82001
Wyoming licensed producers who hold a life insurance license and sell annuities must complete a one-time, four-hour CE credit training course approved by the department of insurance and provided by a department-approved education provider. Producers who hold a life insurance license on September 26, 2014, and who desire to sell annuities must complete the course no later than March 26, 2015. Individuals who obtain a life insurance license on or after September 26, 2014, may not engage in the sale of annuities until the annuity training course has been completed.
Producers who sell annuities in Wyoming may satisfy the requirement if they have completed a course in another state that has adopted substantially similar annuity training requirements. Insurers must verify that their producers have completed the annuity training course required under this rule before allowing producers to sell an annuity product for them in Wyoming.
Producers wishing to engage in the sales of long-term care insurance must complete a onetime training course of 8 hours and ongoing training of 4 hours every 24 months.
This state has issued a notice reminding licensees who sell flood insurance of their requirement to comply with the minimum 3 hours of training requirements established by FEMA and the National Flood Insurance Program.
Licensees are required to complete 24 continuing education credit hours during a two year licensing period. Three of the 24 hours must be approved as ethics hours.
Nonresident producers are exempt from Wyoming CE.
Nonresident adjusters must meet their home state requirement. If there is no home state requirement, adjusters must complete 24 hours biennially including 3 hours of ethics.
Course repetition is not permitted within the compliance/renewal period.
Online certification exams are closed book. Course materials are not available while the exam is in progress. The final exam must be passed with a score of 70% or higher to receive CE credit. If the exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.
A disinterested third party must monitor (preferred by the Department of Insurance), or a supervisor or training director must monitor the online exam. The monitor is required to complete an online Declaration of Compliance before an individual can access the online exam. The Declaration of Compliance is electronically transmitted to Kaplan upon completion of the exam.
If the licensee launches the exam without a monitor present, he/she will be disqualified from receiving CE credit for the course.
Wyoming resident licensees must complete their CE requirements by the last day of his or her birth month every two years.
Excess credit hours do not carry forward into the next licensing period.
Report within 30 days of completion. Need agent’s SSN to report.
The WY Department of Insurance requires a course reporting fee of $1.00 per credit hour (online, self-study and classroom courses). This state reporting fee will be automatically charged to you (on the last credit card used in your account) each time you complete an online, self-study, or classroom course.
Individuals acting as instructors for continuing education courses receive the same amount of CE credit as his or her students receive for taking the class.
This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.