Missouri Insurance Continuing Education State Requirements
On this page, you will find all of the state-specific information for Insurance CE in the state of Missouri.
Missouri Department of Insurance
Individuals who obtain a life insurance line of authority may not may not sell, solicit, or negotiate an annuity product until the one-time annuity certification training course has been completed.
Long-Term Care Training
Licensed producers selling Long-term Care Partnership policies must complete a one-time eight-hour training and four hours of Partnership CE every two years as part of the above required sixteen hours.
This state has issued a notice reminding licensees who sell flood insurance of their requirement to comply with the minimum 3 hours of training requirements established by FEMA and the National Flood Insurance Program.
All Other State Requirements
Resident producers licensed for any major line of authority will be required to complete 16 hours of continuing education in that line of authority biennially. If a licensee holds a combination of Life/Health/Property/Casualty, they may complete any line of authority combination of 16 hours of continuing education. Licensees will need to complete a 3-hour ethics component as part of the overall requirement.
This state has issued a notice reminding licensees who sell flood insurance of their requirement to comply with the minimum training requirements established by FEMA and the National Flood Insurance Program.
Non-residents are exempt as long as they are in compliance with their home state requirement.
Course repetition is not permitted within the compliance/renewal period.
Online certification exams are closed book. Course materials are not available while the exam is in progress. The final exam must be passed with a score of 70% or higher to receive CE credit. If the exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.
Missouri resident and nonresident licensees must complete their CE requirements before the original license issuance anniversary date every two years.
Excess hours accumulated during any two-year period may be carried forward to the two-year period immediately following the two-year period in which the course, program or seminar was held.
Report within 15 days of completion. Agent’s license number, NPN or SSN needed to report.
State Reporting Fees
The MO Department of Insurance requires a course reporting fee of $1.00 per credit hour (online, self-study and classroom courses). This state reporting fee will be automatically charged to you (on the last credit card used in your account) each time you complete an online, self-study, or classroom course.
Individuals acting as instructors for continuing education courses receive the same amount of CE credit as his or her students receive for taking the class.
Individuals who are at least 70 years old are exempt from CE requirements.
Acceptable Training Methods
- Online (Internet Delivery)
- Correspondence (Print)
- Company Seminars
- CBT/CD-ROM (Computer-Based Training)
This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.
View our Missouri Total Access CE options:
Total Access CE
Recommended - 80+ Courses
Total Access CE from Kaplan Financial Education lets you take all the online continuing education courses you want for one price.
Life & Health
Total Access CE
Access to 45+ Courses
Total Access CE - Life & Health lets you take all the online continuing education courses you want for one price.
Property & Casualty
Total Access CE
Access to 50+ Courses
Total Access CE - Property & Casualty lets you take all the online continuing education courses you want for one price.