New Jersey Insurance Licensing State Requirements
On this page, you will find all of the state-specific information for insurance licensing in the state of New Jersey. This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the New Jersey Department of Banking & Insurance website at http://www.state.nj.us/dobi.Information is subject to change, and we will do our very best to make the process of completing your licensing education requirements as simple as possible.
New Jersey Department of Banking & Insurance
Effective 8/6/2020: Individual applicants seeking a temporary resident insurance producer license in this State may electronically submit an application for a temporary resident insurance producer license at www.nipr.com. These applicants may be issued a temporary insurance producer license for a period not to exceed 180 days. Paper applications will still apply if a sponsoring insurer chooses to submit in lieu of filing the application electronically through NIPR. Qualifications of and Procedures for Applicants Requesting a Temporary Insurance Producer License:
- The applicant for a temporary insurance producer license must be a New Jersey resident, a citizen of the United States or possess a valid work authorization and be at least 18 years of age.
- The applicant must not have committed any act that is a ground for denial, suspension or revocation.
- The applicant for a temporary insurance producer license must not have been licensed as an insurance producer in New Jersey within the past thirty months, must not have been previously denied a license in NJ, and must not have had an insurance producer license revoked or suspended in any state including NJ.
- The applicant for a temporary insurance producer license must not have been convicted of a felony level crime, unless the applicant has obtained the written consent of the Commissioner.
- An insurance company holding an active certificate of authority in New Jersey must sponsor the applicant for temporary licensure and assume responsibility for all acts of the temporary licensee. The applicant need not be an employee of the insurance company but must be actively appointed to represent the sponsoring insurer. The sponsoring insurer must be authorized to write the line(s) of insurance for which the applicant is applying.
- Temporary licensees will only be permitted to hold an appointment with one sponsoring insurer.
- An applicant for a temporary insurance producer license must complete the approved line of authority pre-licensing education course prior to the issuance of a temporary license. Proof of the completion of pre-licensing education must be provided with the application for temporary licensure.
- An applicant for a temporary insurance producer license must complete the fingerprinting/background check process set forth on the Department’s website at https://www.nj.gov/dobi/insliced/livescan.htm. Applicants for a temporary insurance producer license must complete the fingerprinting process prior to the sponsoring insurer submitting an application for temporary licensure. A receipt from the Department’s fingerprinting vendor, IDEMIA, must be emailed to the Department at firstname.lastname@example.org prior to submitting the completed electronic application through NIPR.
- The applicant or sponsoring insurer should not submit appointments of temporary licensees on NIPR. Additionally, the $35 fee for appointments will not be required for the appointment of temporary licensees. The applicant for temporary licensure must submit the name and contact information of their sponsoring insurer to email@example.com with the applicant’s NIPR Transaction Number. The Department will confirm the sponsoring relationship with the identified sponsoring insurer prior to finalization of the application review.
- The electronic application fee for a temporary insurance producer license is subject to an application fee of $150 and processing fee of $20, payable through NIPR.
- Should the application for temporary licensure be approved, applicants and sponsoring insurers will receive a letter from the Department advising them of the approval. This letter will be proof of the issuance of the temporary insurance producer license. No separate license will be needed to prove temporary licensure; however, a license may be printed by the applicant at www.nipr.com.
- Please allow 30 days for a determination for temporary licensure. This timeline is only an estimate and may be extended or shortened due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
How to Get Your New Jersey Insurance License
1. Complete an Insurance Prelicensing Course
New Jersey requires those seeking an insurance license to complete prelicensing before taking the state licensing exam. Prelicensing courses with Kaplan give you the best chance to pass—our pass rates are among the highest in the industry.
Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements
- Combined Life and Health: 40 Hours
- Life: 20 Hours
- Health: 20 Hours
- Combined Property and Casualty: 40 Hours
- Property: 20 Hours
- Casualty: 20 Hours
- Personal Lines, Property and Casualty: 20 Hours
- Title: 20 Hours
- Surplus Lines: None
- Limited Lines, Bail Bonds: 10 Hours
Acceptable Methods of Education
- Classroom (Traditional or Live Online)
Prelicensing Education Exemptions
The following designations or certifications are approved for waiver of prelicensing education requirements for the indicated insurance line of authority. Note: Applicant must apply for a license within one year of passing the exam.
Adjuster License Requirements
The Texas Designated Home State (DHS) Adjuster license is available to an individual who is a resident of a state that does not license adjusters. This means you can obtain the Texas Property/Casualty Adjuster license just as a Texas resident adjuster would and complete the Texas bi-annual continuing education requirement. The Texas DHS Adjuster license is highly respected in the industry and can significantly enhance your credibility as an adjuster in your home state.
Kaplan’s online Property/Casualty Adjuster licensing course contains the actual state licensing exam for the Texas DHS Adjuster license; therefore, you can satisfy your Texas prelicensing requirement AND pass the Texas P/C Adjuster state licensing exam without having to leave your home or office. Upon completing the Kaplan course and successfully passing the exam, you can remotely apply for the Texas P/C Adjuster License using the procedures found on the Texas State Requirements page. This will qualify you to adjust in both your home state and numerous other states that accept the Texas DHS Adjuster license.
If you continue, please be aware that you will be taking Kaplan's online Texas Property/Casualty Adjuster course. Check with the Department of Insurance in your resident state and the states you wish to adjust to see how the Texas PC Adjuster license can be used in those states.
2. Pass Your New Jersey Licensing Exam
After completing your required prelicensing course, you must pass a state licensing exam. Kaplan’s prelicensing content is based directly on the New Jersey licensing exams, so you will be prepared to pass the first time.
Certificate of Completion Requirements
- Candidates must present their original prelicensing education course completion certificate on the day of the exam, or a waiver issued by the New Jersey Department of Banking & Insurance.
- Certificate is submitted with the candidate’s insurance license application.
- Certificates of completion are valid indefinitely.
Exam and/or Prelicensing Education Exemptions
The following designations or certifications are approved for waiver of prelicensing education requirements for the indicated insurance line of authority: Note: Applicant must apply for a license within one year of passing the exam.
- Life: CEBS, ChFC®, CIC, CFP®, CLU®, FLMI, LUTCF
- Accident and Health or Sickness: RHU, CEBS, REBC, HIA
- Property, Casualty, Personal Lines: AAI, ARM, CIC, CPCU®
Note: Applicant must apply for a license within one year of passing the exam.
Exam Provider: PSI
In-person and remote examinations may be scheduled by candidates beginning on 9/15/2020 through PSI's new scheduling website, https://www.psiexams.com/njin. The Department of Banking and Insurance will continue to partner with PSI to ensure the integrity and security of the examination process as it expands into remote testing. To schedule a PSI remote examination, the license applicant's desktop or laptop computer must have a webcam, a microphone, and an internet connection compatible with PSI's technology requirements.
Frequently Asked Questions About the New Jersey Licensing Exam
After completing my prelicensing, how should I prepare for exam day?
The following suggestions will help you prepare for your examination:
- Only consider the actual information given in the question, do not read into the question by considering any possibilities or exceptions.
- Planned preparation increases your likelihood of passing.
- Start with a current copy of the Candidate Information Bulletin and use the examination content outline as the basis of your study.
- Read study materials that cover all the topics in the content outline.
- Take notes on what you study. Putting information in writing helps you commit it to memory and it is also an excellent business practice.
- Discuss new terms or concepts as frequently as you can with colleagues. This will test your understanding and reinforce ideas.
- Your studies will be most effective if you study frequently, for periods of about 45 to 60 minutes. Concentration tends to wander when you study for longer periods of time.
What is the exam like?
On the day of the examination, you should arrive 30 minutes before your appointment. This extra time is for sign-in, identification, and familiarizing you with the examination process. If you arrive late, you may not be admitted to the examination site and you will forfeit your examination registration fee.
Candidates must register for the exam with their LEGAL first and last name as it appears on their government issued identification. All required identification below must match the first and last name under which the candidate is registered. Candidates are required to bring two (2) forms of valid (nonexpired) signature bearing identification to the test site. If the candidate fails to bring proper identification or the candidate names do not match, the candidate will not be allowed to test and their examination fee will not be refunded.
PRIMARY IDENTIFICATION (with photo) – Choose One
- State Issued Driver’s License
- State Issued Identification Card
- US Government Issued Passport
- US Government Issued Military Identification Card
- US Government Issued Alien Registration Card
- Canadian Government Issued ID
NOTE: ID must contain candidate’s photo, be valid and unexpired.
SECONDARY IDENTIFICATION – Choose One
- Credit Card (must be signed)
- Social Security Card
- US Issued Birth Certificate with Raised Seal
NOTE: Student ID and employment ID are NOT acceptable forms of identification.
Candidates taking the Life, Health, Property, Casualty, Title, Personal Lines, or LL Bail Bond examinations must also present, on the day of the examination, a prelicensing education course completion certificate (AN ELECTRONIC VERSION OR HARD COPY WILL BE ACCEPTED) OR a waiver issued by the NJ Department of Banking and Insurance. For a retake examination, this must be presented or your failing score report may be presented.
Candidates taking the Surplus Lines, Public Adjuster, or the instructor examinations do not need to present either of the two documents mentioned above (prelicensing education course completion certificate OR a waiver issued by the NJ Department of Banking and Insurance).
The following security procedures will apply during the examination:
- Only non-programmable calculators that are silent, battery-operated, do not have paper tape printing capabilities, and do not have a keyboard containing the alphabet will be allowed in the examination site.
- Candidates may take only approved items into the examination room.
- All personal belongings of candidates should be placed in the secure storage provided at each site prior to entering the examination room. Personal belongings include, but are not limited to, the following items:
- Electronic devices of any type, including cellular/mobile phones, recording devices, electronic watches, cameras, pagers, laptop computers, tablet computers (e.g., iPads), music players (e.g., iPods), smart watches, radios, or electronic games.
- Bulky or loose clothing or coats that could be used to conceal recording devices or notes. For security purposes outerwear such as, but not limited to: open sweaters, cardigans, shawls, scarves, hoodies, vests, jackets and coats are not permitted in the testing room. In the event you are asked to remove the outerwear, appropriate attire, such as a shirt or blouse should be worn underneath.
- Hats or headgear not worn for religious reasons or as religious apparel, including hats, baseball caps, or visors.
- Other personal items, including purses, notebooks, reference or reading material, briefcases, backpacks, wallets, pens, pencils, other writing devices, food, drinks, and good luck items.
- Although secure storage for personal items is provided at the examination site for your convenience, PSI is not responsible for any damage, loss, or theft of any personal belongings or prohibited items brought to, stored at, or left behind at the examination site. PSI assumes no duty of care with respect to such items and makes no representation that the secure storage provided will be effective in protecting such items. If you leave any items at the examination site after your examination and do not claim them within 30 days, they will be disposed of or donated, at PSI’s sole discretion.
- Person(s) accompanying an examination candidate may not wait in the examination center, inside the building or on the building's property. This applies to guests of any nature, including drivers, children, friends, family, colleagues or instructors.
- No smoking, eating, or drinking is allowed in the examination center.
- During the check-in process, all candidates will be asked if they possess any prohibited items. Candidates may also be asked to empty their pockets and turn them out for the proctor to ensure they are empty. The proctor may also ask candidates to lift up the ends of their sleeves and the bottoms of their pant legs to ensure that notes or recording devices are not being hidden there.
- Proctors will also carefully inspect eyeglass frames, tie tacks, or any other apparel that could be used to harbor a recording device. Proctors will ask to inspect any such items in candidates’ pockets.
- If prohibited items are found during check-in, candidates shall put them in the provided secure storage or return these items to their vehicle. PSI will not be responsible for the security of any personal belongings or prohibited items.
- Any candidate possessing prohibited items in the examination room shall immediately have his or her test results invalidated, and PSI shall notify the examination sponsor of the occurrence.
- Any candidate seen giving or receiving assistance on an examination, found with unauthorized materials, or who violates any security regulations will be asked to surrender all examination materials and to leave the examination center. All such instances will be reported to the examination sponsor.
- Copying or communicating examination content is violation of a candidate’s contract with PSI, and federal and state law. Either may result in the disqualification of examination results and may lead to legal action.
- Once candidates have been seated and the examination begins, they may leave the examination room only to use the restroom, and only after obtaining permission from the proctor. Candidate will not receive extra time to complete the examination.
How is the exam scored?
Your score will be given to you immediately following completion of the examination. The following summary describes the score reporting process:
- On screen: Your score will appear immediately on the computer screen. This will happen automatically at the end of the time allowed for the examination.
- If you pass, you will immediately receive a successful notification.
- If you do not pass, you will receive a diagnostic report indicating your strengths and weaknesses by examination type with the score report.
- On paper: An unofficial score report will be printed at the examination site.
3. Apply for a New Jersey Insurance License
Once you have passed your state licensing exam, you are ready to apply for an insurance license.
To learn more about the online electronic nonresident licensing (ENRL) application process, visit the NIPR website.
You will be assigned an NPN. This unique identifier is assigned through the licensing application process and is used to track individuals and business entities on a national basis. The NPN is used by many states to replace a producer license number.
4. Plan to Complete Required Insurance Continuing Education (CE) Credits
Every insurance producer must adhere to their home state’s CE requirements. Stay on top of your CE and ahead of the competition with 365 days of unlimited course access when you enroll in a CE library with Kaplan.
Learn how to renew a New Jersey insurance license by clicking here: https://www.kaplanfinancial.com/insurance-continuing-education/new-jersey/state-requirements