New Jersey Insurance Continuing Education State Requirements
On this page, you will find all of the state-specific information for Insurance CE in the state of New Jersey.
State of New Jersey
Effective 5/4/2020: Individuals whose insurance producer licenses expire on or between 3/31/2020 and 6/30/2020 are granted a 3-month extension of their license term. The next licensing term must be renewed by the normal deadline (without the 3-month extension).
Life insurance producers who are currently licensed who engage in the sale of annuity products must complete a one-time four-credit training course. Individuals who have obtained a life license may not engage in the sale of annuities until the required annuity training course has been completed. The satisfaction of the training requirements of another state that are substantially similar to these provisions shall be deemed to satisfy the training requirements of New Jersey.
Long-Term Care Training
New Jersey requires 8 hours of initial training and 4 hours of continuing education.
All Other State Requirements
Transcripts: Click Here for Link
To renew a producer license, resident individual licensees are required to complete 24 credits every two (2) years, of which three (3) hours must be from approved ethics courses.
For the first renewal only (following the initial issuance), resident producers with property authority who write flood insurance must complete a three (3) hour course related to flood insurance and the National Flood Insurance Program as part of their
total CE requirement.
Public Adjusters must complete no less than 15 hours of continuing education each 2-year license renewal period. Nonresidents may be exempt if the commissioner deems that the licensee has satisfactorily completed continuing education requirements for a public adjuster in the state in which he or she resides that are equivalent to New Jersey requirements.
Non-resident producers who have met the requirements of their home state are exempt from the New Jersey CE requirements.
Courses may not be repeated in the licensee’s two (2) year compliance period.
Online certification exams are closed book. Course materials are not available while the exam is in progress. The final exam must be passed with a score of 70% or higher to receive CE credit. If the exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.
Residents must complete their requirements by the last day of their month of birth, biennially.
Carryover of CE credits is not permitted.
Report within 15 days of completion. Need Agent’s license number or SSN to report.
Licensees with an insurance designation, and maintain the continuing education for that certification, are exempt from NJ continuing education requirements. To claim the exemption, producers must file an Alternative Credit Form that is available on the NJ Department of Insurance website at www.nj.gov/dobi/prodfaqs.htm.
Acceptable Training Methods
- Company Seminars
- Online (Internet Delivery)
- Correspondence (Print)
This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.
View our New Jersey Total Access CE options:
Total Access CE
Recommended - 80+ Courses
Total Access CE from Kaplan Financial Education lets you take all the online continuing education courses you want for one price.
Life & Health
Total Access CE
Access to 45+ Courses
Total Access CE - Life & Health lets you take all the online continuing education courses you want for one price.
Property & Casualty
Total Access CE
Access to 50+ Courses
Total Access CE - Property & Casualty lets you take all the online continuing education courses you want for one price.