Colorado Insurance Licensing State Requirements
On this page, you will find all of the state-specific information for Insurance Licensing in the state of Colorado. This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for non-resident license information, please refer to the Colorado Division of Insurance website at http://www.dora.state.co.us/insurance. Information is subject to change, and we will do our very best to make the process of completing your licensing education requirements as simple as possible.
Colorado Division of Insurance
Department of Regulatory Agencies - Producers Licensing
1560 Broadway, Suite 850
Denver, CO 80202
Effective 5/15/2020: The Division will issue temporary resident insurance producer licenses to applicants until 7/31/2020, or as amended by subsequent order of the Commissioner. An applicant must satisfy the following requirements:
- Is a resident of CO and at least 18 years old;
- Meets and maintains the application requirements with the exception of the license examination requirements as set forth in this Order;
- Has not committed any act that is grounds for denial;
- Is sponsored by an insurer or licensed CO resident producer in good standing in the state of CO. Insurers shall be identified by name, NAIC company code, business address, telephone number, and email address. All sponsors shall conduct a background check, including for crimes involving moral turpitude, confirm in writing that subject to the background check, the applicant is not in violation of C.R.S. 10-2-801 or any other applicable statutes which would otherwise preclude their eligibility to apply for a temporary resident producer license in CO.
- The sponsor has submitted an application for a temporary license electronically at www.sircon.com, as an authorized submitter on the applicant's behalf. The application includes an attestation.
How to Get Your Colorado Insurance License
1. Complete an Insurance Prelicensing Course
Colorado requires those seeking an insurance license to complete prelicensing before taking the state licensing exam. Prelicensing courses with Kaplan give you the best chance to pass—our pass rates are among the highest in the industry.
Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements
- Life: 50 Hours
- Health: 50 Hours
- Property: 50 Hours
- Casualty: 50 Hours
- Property & Casualty: 50 Hours
- Personal Lines: 50 Hours
Included as part of the above major lines of authority requirements, all applicants must successfully complete a total of ten (10) hours of training in the following areas:
- Principles of Insurance: 3 Hours
- Legal Concepts and Regulations: 4 Hours
- Ethics: 3 Hours
Note: If applying for multiple lines of authority, the Principles of Insurance, Legal Concepts and Regulations, and Ethics training need to be taken only once.
Acceptable Methods of Education
Live Class Requirements
Pre-Class Study (must be completed prior to attending the live class):
- Life & Health: 37 hours Life, 37 hours Health, plus 10 hours of Principles of Insurance, Legal Concepts, and Reg and Ethics*
- Life Only: 32 hours Life, plus 10 hours of Principles of Insurance, Legal Concepts, and Reg and Ethics*
- Health Only: 32 Hours Health, plus 10 hours of Principles of Insurance, Legal Concepts, and Reg and Ethics*
- Property & Casualty: 12 hours of Property, 12 hours of Casualty, plus 10 hours of Principles of Insurance, Legal Concepts, and Reg and Ethics*
*If the student is already licensed in one line of authority, the 10 hours of Principles, Reg and Ethics are waived for the 2nd line.
In-Class Exam: In Colorado, an in-class graded exam is given to test user readiness for the state exam. The test must be passed with a 70% or greater in order to receive a certificate of completion.
Online Course Requirements
- Forced progression: This requires the user to successfully complete each page of the online course before being allowed to proceed to the next.
- Proctor: In order for a certificate of completion to be earned and issued, the certification exam for self-study courses must be monitored by a disinterested third party (someone other than a relative, friend, or business associate).
Prelicensing Education Exemptions
Individuals holding one or more of the following current and valid designations or certifications are exempt from prelicensing education requirements for the respective line of insurance authority:
- Life: CEBS, ChFC®, CIC, CFP®, CLU®, FLMI, LUTCF
- Accident & Health or Sickness: RHU, CEBS, REBC, HIA
- Property and Casualty: AAI, ARM, CIC, CPCU®
Note: An individual holding a four year degree from an accredited institution of higher learning with major course work in insurance is also exempt from prelicensing education.
Adjuster License Requirements
Disclosure for states that do not require an adjuster license:
The Texas Designated Home State (DHS) Adjuster license is available to an individual who is a resident of a state that does not license adjusters. This means you can obtain the Texas Property/Casualty Adjuster license just as a Texas resident adjuster would and complete the Texas bi-annual continuing education requirement. The Texas DHS Adjuster license is highly respected in the industry and can significantly enhance your credibility as an adjuster in your home state.
Kaplan’s online Property/Casualty Adjuster licensing course contains the actual state licensing exam for the Texas DHS Adjuster license; therefore, you can satisfy your Texas prelicensing requirement AND pass the Texas P/C Adjuster state licensing exam without having to leave your home or office. Upon completing the Kaplan course and successfully passing the exam, you can remotely apply for the Texas P/C Adjuster License using the procedures found on the Texas State Requirements page. This will qualify you to adjust in both your home state and numerous other states that accept the Texas DHS Adjuster license.
If you continue, please be aware that you will be taking Kaplan's online Texas Property/Casualty Adjuster course. Check with the Department of Insurance in your resident state and the states you wish to adjust to see how the Texas PC Adjuster license can be used in those states.
2. Pass Your Colorado Licensing Exam
After completing your required prelicensing course, you must pass a state licensing exam. Kaplan’s prelicensing content is based directly on the Colorado licensing exams, so you will be prepared to pass the first time.
Certificate of Completion Requirements
To receive a certificate of completion candidates must pass a final, closed book, exam (minimum score of 70% required). Self-study course exams must be monitored by a disinterested third party. Classroom course exams must be monitored by a qualified instructor.
- Prelicensing providers are required to submit prelicensing completion information electronically to Pearson VUE/Colorado Division of Insurance within 10 days of completion.
- Candidates must provide evidence of successful completion of prelicensing training at the time of the examination.
- Prelicensing certificates of completion are valid for one year from the date of completion. If you attempt to take the exam after one year, you will not be licensed until you complete a prelicensing class. You must apply for a license within one year or you will be required to re-take the prelicensing class.
Exam Provider: Pearson VUE
- To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the Pearson VUE website at http://www.pearsonvue.com.
- To schedule an exam, contact Pearson VUE at http://www.pearsonvue.com or 800-274-2616.
- The Division of Insurance, part of the Department of Regulatory Agencies, has worked with its testing vendor Pearson VUE, so that online testing will be available through their platform, OnVUE. All insurance licensing exams that are offered at test centers will be available online: Accident & Health, Casualty, Life, Personal Lines, Property, Credit, Crop Hail Adjuster, Public Insurance Adjuster, Surplus Lines and Title. Online exam proctoring allows this certification testing to be done remotely, offering not just convenience, but safety during the COVID-19 pandemic. Candidates need their own computer with a webcam, a reliable internet connection, and a quiet room. They are monitored by a proctor through the webcam and microphone to guard the integrity of the exam. Candidates wishing to access the online insurance exams will use Pearson VUE's Colorado Insurance testing website and when registering for an exam, choose "at home or office" when selecting an exam delivery option. They will be required to download the OnVUE application, which will prompt them to provide photos of the following: headshot, government-issued ID, and the room where the exam will be taken. Please call Pearson VUE at 800-274-2616 or email email@example.com should you have any questions. Exams are still available at testing sites, however to maintain appropriate social distancing measures, these sites are only operating at 50% capacity. Use the same link above to view testing center availability.
Frequently Asked Questions About the Colorado Licensing Exam
After completing my prelicensing, how should I prepare for exam day?
- Candidates should report to the test center at least thirty (30) minutes before the examination begins to complete registration. The time allotted for the examination varies, and each candidate will leave the test center with an official score report in hand.
- Candidates must being their prelicensing Certificate of Completion to the Test Center, in addition to two forms of ID.
- Candidates must present two (2) forms of current signature identification. The name on the identification must exactly match the name on the registration. The primary identification must be government-issued and photo-bearing with a signature, and the secondary identification must contain a valid signature.
- Identification must be in English.
- Primary ID:
- U.S. Department of State driver’s license
- U.S. learner’s permit (plastic card only with photo and signature)
- National/State/Country ID card
- Passport Card
- Military ID
- Military ID for spouses and dependents
- Alien Registration Card (Green Card with visible signature, Permanent Resident Visa)
- Secondary ID (signature, not expired)
- U.S. Social Security card
- Debit (ATM) or Credit card
- Any form of ID on the Primary ID list
- Forms of ID must be current; grace periods are not recognized.
What is the exam like?
Testing sessions are recorded. No personal items are allowed in the testing room. Personal items include but are not limited to cellular phones, hand-held computers or other electronic devices, pagers, watches, wallets, purses, firearms or other weapons, hats, bags, coats, books, and/ or notes, pens, or pencils.
Question formats include:
- Multiple choice
- Multiple select
- Hot spot
- Hot area
The examination may contain Pretest questions. These are questions for which the exam provider collects statistical data for use in future examinations. Pretest questions are not identified and do not affect your score.
How is the exam scored?
There are multiple versions of each of the licensing examinations. These versions are known as forms. Although all forms of an examination are developed based on the content outlines, the difficulty of the forms of an examination may vary slightly because different questions appear on each form. To ensure that no candidate is put at an unfair advantage or disadvantage due to the particular form of an examination that he or she is given, a statistical procedure known as equating is used to correct for differences in form difficulty.
For example, in an examination with two (2) forms, Form A and Form B, the state licensing agency determines that answering 30 questions correctly on Form A demonstrates the minimum amount of knowledge necessary to be licensed. It is further determined through the equating process that Form B contains slightly more difficult questions than Form A; therefore, answering 30 questions correctly on Form A would indicate the same level of knowledge as answering only 28 questions correctly on Form B. Under this set of circumstances, a score of 30 questions correct would be used as the passing score on Form A whereas a score of 28 questions correct would be used as the passing score on Form B.
A second statistical procedure known as scaling is used to derive the numerical score to report for each candidate. Scaling is used to place a raw score on a common reporting scale on which each scaled score represents a given level of knowledge regardless of the difficulty of the form on which the raw score was achieved. To illustrate how scaling works, suppose that in the examination example used above, the state licensing agency decides to use a score of 500 as the passing score for reporting purposes. (Note that the score selected to be used as the reported passing score is not related to, and has no bearing on, the difficulty of the examination.)
Based on the information provided above, a raw score of 30 on Form A would translate to a scaled score of 500; a raw score of 28 on Form B would also translate to a scaled score of 500 since a raw score of 30 on Form A represents the same level of knowledge as a raw score of 28 on Form B.
The passing score of an examination was set by the Division (in conjunction with Pearson VUE) after a comprehensive study was completed for each examination. Raw scores are converted into scaled scores that can range from 0 to 100. To avoid misuse of score information, numeric scores are only reported to failing candidates. The scaled score that is reported to you is neither the number of questions you answered correctly nor the percentage of questions you answered correctly. Any score below passing score indicates how close the candidate came to passing, rather than the actual number or percentage of questions the candidates answered correctly.
What are the next steps for someone who fails?
Reschedule the exam. Note: Reservations cannot be made at the test center, and you must wait 24 hours before making another one.
How long is the exam?
|Exam Code||Line of Authority||Exam Time||Total Questions|
|InsCO_Life01||CO Life Producer||2 Hours||80 Questions|
|InsCO_Health02||CO Accident and Health Producer||2 Hours|
|InsCO_Prop03||CO Property Producer||2 Hours||75 Questions|
|InsCO_Cas04||CO Casualty Producer||2 Hours||81 Questions|
|InsCO_Pers55||CO Personal Lines Producer||2.25 Hours||104 Questions|
|InsCO_Cred30||CO Credit||.75 Hours||30 Questions|
|InsCO_PubAdj14||CO Public Adjuster||1.25 Hours||60 Questions|
|InsCO_Surp82||CO Surplus Lines||.75 Hours||35 Questions|
|InsCO_Title83||CO Title||1.25 Hours||75 Questions|
|InsCO_Crop31||CO Crop||.75 Hours||35 Questions|
3. Apply for Colorado Insurance License
Once you have passed your state licensing exam, you are ready to apply for an insurance license.
You must complete an online application at www.sircon.com/colorado or www.nipr.com. Upon completing the online application, you will be asked a series of screening questions and will be required to submit supporting documentation for any Yes answers, as indicated in the question. Supporting documentation may be submitted by uploading to www.sircon.com/colorado or www.nipr.com.
You will be assigned an NPN. This unique identifier is assigned through the licensing application process and is used to track individuals and business entities on a national basis. The NPN is used by many states to replace a producer license number.
4. Plan to Complete Required Insurance Continuing Education (CE) Credits
Every insurance producer must adhere to their home state’s CE requirements. Stay on top of your CE and ahead of the competition with 365 days of unlimited course access when you enroll in a CE library with Kaplan.
Learn how to renew a Colorado insurance license by clicking here.
Kaplan Financial Education is approved and regulated by the Colorado Department of Higher Education, Private Occupational School Board (DPOS). View the Colorado College Bulletin.
This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.
All program policies are subject to the rules and/or requirements established by individual states. For more information about refund policies in specific states, please see the state policies listed below.
Colorado Division of Private Occupational Schools
Refunds will be provided within 30 days of termination date provided the following conditions are satisfied. Termination date is the date the school receives written or verbal notice of a student’s intention to terminate or cancel his/her enrollment, or the date on which the student violates the published attendance policy.
For all courses and programs, Kaplan will pay a full refund of all tuition and fees paid by a prospective student if: (1) a prospective student is not accepted by Kaplan; (2) for classroom courses and programs, within three days after initial payment a student notifies Kaplan of his or her intention to terminate the enrollment, provided that training has not started; (3) for correspondence courses and programs, within three days after initial payment a student notifies Kaplan of his or her intention to terminate the enrollment; or (4) Kaplan discontinues a course during the period of time within which a student could reasonably have completed the course as defined in the Standard of Progress above. Refunds called for by provision (4) shall not apply in the event that the school ceases operation.
For classroom courses and programs, Kaplan will pay a full refund of tuition and fees paid less a cancellation charge (not to exceed $150) of 20% of the tuition for the course(s) the student is terminating when terminated more than 3 days after the date of enrollment but before training has started. "Training" for correspondence courses and programs commences on the date of enrollment, so refund requests made more than 3 days after date of enrollment for correspondence courses are subject to the policy below.
For refund requests and terminations made more than 3 days after initial enrollment or after training has commenced, Kaplan will retain a cancellation charge of 20% of the tuition (but not to exceed $150.00) for all courses and then pay a refund based on the following policies. Note that this cancellation charge does not apply to the full refund conditions described above, or to refunds under the Veterans Refund Policy set forth separately below. The refund percentages described here shall be applied to full tuition and fees actually paid by the student after deducting the cancellation charge, and not to books. If a student discontinues training or is terminated by Kaplan, the following refund will be made to the student within 30 days of official determination of the termination date (the date on which Kaplan receives written or verbal notice of a student’s intention to discontinue training, or the date on which the student violates the published attendance policy). Refunds will be calculated as follows:
|When a student terminates their training:||Refund the student is entitled to:|
|Within first 10% of program||90% refund less cancellation charge|
|After 10% but within 25% of program||75% refund less cancellation charge|
|After 25% but within 50% of program||50% refund less cancellation charge|
|After 50% but within 75% of program||25% refund less cancellation charge|
|After 75% completed|
(no cancellation charge is applicable if paid in full)
Completion percentages will be determined by the number of classroom sessions attended, the number of correspondence lesson quizzes returned (if applicable), or the number of correspondence lessons that should have been completed beginning on the date of initial payment, according to the "lessons per week" standard shown for the satisfactory standards progress described above.
For continuing education courses, after three days from enrollment students will not receive a refund but students will be given credit toward another course of the student’s choosing. Credit can be used for up to one year from the date of enrollment. Books and materials provided for all courses and programs must be returned to Kaplan before any refund can be issued and are not separately refundable. However, if a student cancels and fails to return the course materials, the cost of these materials will be deducted from the total refund given to the student. The charge for books and materials will be based on the tuition fee charged for the equivalent self-study (correspondence) material. No refund is made for shipping or tax charges. Any materials which cannot be re-used will not be refunded. Retail books purchased from our bookstore that have not been opened or used may be returned for a full refund for up to 30 days from the date of purchase.
Postponement of a starting date, whether at the request of the school or the student, requires a written agreement signed by the student and the school. The agreement must set forth: (a) Whether the postponement is for the convenience of the school or the student, and (b) A deadline for the new start date, beyond which the start date will not be postponed. If the course is not commenced, or the student fails to attend by the new start date set forth in the agreement, the student will be entitled to an appropriate refund of prepaid tuition and fees within 30 days of the deadline of the new start date set forth in the agreement, determined in accordance with the school’s refund policy and all applicable laws and rules concerning the Private Occupational Education Act of 1981. Kaplan policies for granting credit for previous training, if applicable, shall not affect this refund policy. Any student who has a comment or complaint regarding Kaplan is invited to write or call the school director personally at our Denver location. Kaplan is Approved and Regulated by the Colorado Department of Higher Education, Private Occupational School Board (DPOS). Complaints or claims pursuant to Section 12-59-118, C.R.S. or Section 12-59-115(6)(a), C.R.S., may be filed in writing or online with DPOS within two years after the student discontinues training with Kaplan or at any time prior to the commencement of training. Other complaints may be filed in writing or online with DPOS within two years of the date the alleged injury and its cause were known or should have been known. All complaints must be in writing or filed online. No action regarding third party complaints is required, except as required by Section 12-59-115(6) (a), C.R.S. The Division of Private Occupational Schools is located at 1560 Broadway, Suite 1600, Denver, CO 80202. Their phone number is 303-866-2723 and their website is http://highered.colorado.gov/dpos. Each of the policies and programs above are described in our College Bulletin, which is provided to students upon enrollment.
Kaplan, Inc. is the largest subsidiary of Graham Holdings Company, a diversified education and media company whose principal operations include educational services, television broadcasting, cable television systems, and online, print, and local TV news (NYSE: GHC).