Colorado Insurance Continuing Education State Requirements
On this page, you will find all of the state-specific information for Insurance CE in the state of Colorado.
Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies
Effective 10/22/2020: The waiver of proctoring requirements will expire on 12/31/2020, and exams will then require a disinterested third party proctor after that date. All grace periods for license renewal will expire on 12/31/2020 as well.
Effective 4/3/2020: The proctoring requirements are waived unless and until otherwise ordered by the Commissioner. Colorado will allow a late renewal period for license expiration dates of March 31, 2020 and later, with no additional fees for 180 days past license expiration date. This change is for both individuals and business entities. All license classes are applicable.
An insurance producer who engages in the sale of annuity products shall complete a one-time four (4) credit hour training course approved by the Colorado Division of Insurance and provided by a Division-approved continuing education provider. Individuals who obtain a life insurance line of authority may not engage in the sale of annuities until the annuity training has been completed.
Long-Term Care Training
Producers must complete initial training consisting of 16 hours — 8 hrs in traditional long term care (online or classroom) and 8 hrs specific to partnership (classroom only) — and then complete 5 hours of refresher training (classroom only) biennially thereafter.
This state has issued a notice reminding licensees who sell flood insurance of their requirement to comply with the minimum 3 hours of training requirements established by FEMA and the National Flood Insurance Program.
All Other State Requirements
Resident Insurance Producers must satisfy continuing education requirements in order to renew their license. The continuing education requirement is 24 hours every 2 years (3 hours ethics, 18 hours in major lines and 3 hours miscellaneous).
Colorado producers authorized to sell property or personal lines insurance must complete at least 3 hours of continuing education on homeowners insurance coverage during every two-year licensing period.
Colorado agents are required to complete 3 hours of ethics every 2 years.
Variable Contracts is a sub-line or authority attached to the Life license.
Colorado resident producers who sell or adjust claims-made policies must complete a one-time 2-hour class or approved correspondence course on claims-made policies and receive a certificate of completion.
This state has issued a notice reminding licensees who sell flood insurance of their requirement to comply with the minimum training requirements established by FEMA and the National Flood Insurance Program.
Non-resident licensees who comply with the CE requirements of their resident state are exempt from Colorado CE.
Non-resident agents must comply with the LTC training requirement for this state or another state which meets the NAIC LTC Model training outline.
Non-residents who satisfy the Annuity training requirements of another state that are similar to Colorado’s law will be deemed compliant for Colorado’s requirement.
Courses may not be repeated within a 2-year period.
Online certification exams are closed book. Course materials are not available while the exam is in progress. The final exam must be passed with a score of 70% or higher to receive CE credit. If the exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.
Online exams must be monitored by a disinterested third party. A disinterested third party certifies that the licensee completed the exam without assistance (i.e., closed book, no tiling, layering of screens, etc.) and is someone who has no financial interest in the success or failure of the student’s ability to maintain their license. The monitor must complete the online Declaration of Compliance. If the licensee launches the exam without a monitor present, he/she will be disqualified from receiving CE credit for the course. Completion of the Declaration of Compliance acknowledges understanding and adherence to the specific requirements outlined by the State Department of Insurance. The Declaration of Compliance is electronically transmitted to Kaplan upon completion of the exam and may be audited for compliance purposes.
Renewal date is the last day of the producer’s birth month, biennially.
Licensees may carryover 12 hours to the next continuation period as long as they were earned in the 120 days prior to the compliance deadline.
Report within 10 days of completion. Agent’s license number is required.
Any person teaching an approved course shall receive the same number of hours as his or her students.
Acceptable Training Methods
- Online (internet delivery)
- Correspondence (print)
- Company seminars
- CBT/CD-ROM (computer-based training)
Attention Colorado Students:
Kaplan Financial Education is approved and regulated by the Colorado Department of Higher Education, Private Occupational School Board (DPOS). View the Colorado College Bulletin.
This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.
View our Colorado Total Access CE options:
Total Access CE
Recommended - 80+ Courses
Total Access CE from Kaplan Financial Education lets you take all the online continuing education courses you want for one price.
Life & Health
Total Access CE
Access to 45+ Courses
Total Access CE - Life & Health lets you take all the online continuing education courses you want for one price.
Property & Casualty
Total Access CE
Access to 50+ Courses
Total Access CE - Property & Casualty lets you take all the online continuing education courses you want for one price.