Tennessee Insurance Licensing State Requirements
On this page, you will find all of the state-specific information for Insurance Licensing in the state of Tennessee. This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for non-resident license information, please refer to the Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance website at http://www.state.tn.us/commerce/insurance. Information is subject to change, and we will do our very best to make the process of completing your licensing education requirements as simple as possible.
Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance
Agent Licensing Section
500 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243
Phone: (615) 741-2693 or 888-416-0868
Fax: (615) 532-2862
Effective 4/27/2020: The Department will issue temporary producer licenses to applicants meeting the requirements for licensure without requiring examination for life, accident and health, property, casualty, and personal lines insurance subject to the following conditions:
- All temporary licenses will expire in 180 days. Any producer who completes the appropriate exam (if available) within the 180 days will have his/her license type changed from a temporary to regular license without new application or fees. After 180 days, if the applicant has not taken or successfully passed an exam, the temporary license will expire, and the individual will need to reapply and meet the regular requirements.
- Individuals seeking temporary licensure must complete Tennessee Bureau of Investigation fingerprinting. Information can be found on our website at: https://www.tn.gov/commerce/insurance/agent-producer-resources/licensing-packetsinstructions-forms.html. Click on ‘Fingerprinting Information’. Individuals who have been convicted of a felony are not eligible for temporary licenses.
- Temporary producer licenses are subject to cancellation or revocation at the discretion of the Commissioner without hearing.
- The temporary producer license allows the producer to operate in Tennessee as a resident temporary producer. Temporary producers are not eligible for non-resident licenses in other states.
- A sponsoring insurer must assure that the temporarily licensed producers’ sales activities and training are coordinated by a licensed insurance producer in good standing with the Department or where applicable, a FINRA-licensed registered principal. Company appointments or terminations will not be processed for a temporary licensee; however, company appointment will be required after the licensee has passed the exam and converted the temporary license to a regular license.
- Any active temporary producer license issued pursuant to this Bulletin may be converted to a regular producer license by completion of all prerequisites of a license for the desired line or lines of insurance, including meeting all examination requirements pursuant to the applicable statutes within 180 days of issuance of temporary or prior to the expiration of the temporary license. No additional fee shall be required in association with the issuance of the regular producer license. Notification of passing exam results should be sent to the Agent Licensing Section at firstname.lastname@example.org or faxed to 615-532-2862 to convert the temporary license to a regular producer license.
- Recipients of such temporary producer licenses will be subject to any and all limitations on the authority of such temporary licenses pursuant to Tennessee law.
- The issuance of temporary producer licenses will discontinue as soon as producer examinations are available.
In order to apply for a temporary producers’ license an applicant must: Submit an application online via the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) website at www.nipr.com; Submit a $50 application fee; Complete Tennessee Bureau of Investigation fingerprinting and background check. Go to www.identogo.com to register for fingerprinting and locate an open site. Tennessee insurance producer candidates must use ORI# TN920680Z when scheduling/completing fingerprint requirements per the Tennessee Bureau of Investigation. Once approved, a temporary license can be verified and printed online at www.statebasedsystems.com.
How to Get Your Tennessee Insurance License
1. Complete an Insurance Prelicensing Course
Tennessee requires those seeking an insurance license to complete prelicensing before taking the state licensing exam. Prelicensing courses with Kaplan give you the best chance to pass—our pass rates are among the highest in the industry.
Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements
- Life: 20 Hours
- Accident & Health: 20 Hours
- Property: 20 Hours
- Casualty: 20 Hours
- Personal Lines: 20 Hours
Note: Applicants must wait 48 hours after passing the state exam to apply online for license.
Acceptable Methods of Education
Live Class Requirements:
Pre-Class Study (must be completed prior to attending the live class):
- Life Only: 4 Hours
- Health Only: 4 Hours
- Property Only: 4 Hours
- Casualty Only: 4 Hours
Adjuster License Requirements:
The Texas Designated Home State (DHS) Adjuster license is available to an individual who is a resident of a state that does not license adjusters. This means you can obtain the Texas Property/Casualty Adjuster license just as a Texas resident adjuster would and complete the Texas bi-annual continuing education requirement. The Texas DHS Adjuster license is highly respected in the industry and can significantly enhance your credibility as an adjuster in your home state.
Kaplan’s online Property/Casualty Adjuster licensing course contains the actual state licensing exam for the Texas DHS Adjuster license; therefore, you can satisfy your Texas prelicensing requirement AND pass the Texas P/C Adjuster state licensing exam without having to leave your home or office. Upon completing the Kaplan course and successfully passing the exam, you can remotely apply for the Texas P/C Adjuster License using the procedures found on the Texas State Requirements page. This will qualify you to adjust in both your home state and numerous other states that accept the Texas DHS Adjuster license.
If you continue, please be aware that you will be taking Kaplan's online Texas Property/Casualty Adjuster course. Check with the Department of Insurance in your resident state and the states you wish to adjust to see how the Texas PC Adjuster license can be used in those states.
2. Pass Your Tennessee Licensing Exam
After completing your required prelicensing course, you must pass a state licensing exam. Kaplan’s prelicensing content is based directly on the Tennessee licensing exams, so you will be prepared to pass the first time.
Certificate of Completion Requirements:
- Applicant must present the original Prelicensing Course Certificate for each corresponding line of insurance authority they are applying for at the exam site.
- An individual who has not successfully passed the examination within six (6) months of the first attempt shall be required to retake prelicensing education courses as set forth in Rule 0780-01-56-.06.
- This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance website at http://www.state.tn.us/commerce/insurance.
Exam Provider: Pearson VUE
Frequently Asked Questions About the Tennessee Licensing Exam
After completing my prelicensing, how should I prepare for exam day?
Candidates should make a reservation online at least twenty-four (24) hours before the desired examination date. Walk-in examinations are not available.
- Original Prelicense Course Certificate for all exams except Public Adjuster.
- The Prelicense Course Certificate must be presented to the test center staff each time you test even if you are retesting. Providing the Prelicense Course Certificate via a cell phone or other electronic device is unacceptable. This document must be printed and presented on a physical piece of paper.
- Candidates taking the Public Adjuster exam are not required to complete prelicensing education before the test administration.
Note: Candidates taking the Public Adjuster exam are not required to complete prelicensing education before the test administration.
Candidates should report to the test center thirty (30) minutes before the examination and check in with the test center administrator. The candidate’s identification and other documentation will be reviewed and he/she will be photographed for the score report.
Candidate must present two (2) forms of current signature identification. The primary identification must be government-issued and photo-bearing with a signature, and the secondary identification must contain a valid signature. Identification must be in English.
Primary ID (photograph and signature, not expired)
- Government-issued driver’s license
- U.S. Department of State driver’s license
- U.S. learner’s permit (plastic card only with photo and signature)
- National/State/Country ID card
- Passport Card
- Military ID
- Military ID for spouses and dependents
- Alien Registration Card (Green Card, Permanent Resident Visa)
Secondary ID (signature, not expired)
- U.S. Social Security card
- Debit (ATM) or Credit card
- Any form of ID on the Primary ID list
If the ID presented has an embedded signature that is not visible (microchip), or is difficult or impossible to read, the candidate must present another form of identification from the Primary ID or Secondary ID list that contains a visible signature.
What is the exam like?
The following policies are observed at each test center. Candidates who violate any of these policies will not be permitted to finish the examination and will be dismissed from the test center, forfeiting the examination fee.
- No personal items are allowed in the testing room. Personal items include but are not limited to:
- Cellular phones, hand-held computers or other electronic devices, pagers, watches, wallets, purses, firearms or other weapons, hats, bags, coats, books, and/or notes, pens, or pencils.
- A reader or recorder will be allowed for individuals with mobility or vision impairments and cannot read or write on their own.
- Candidates may either bring, or request from the test center, a basic non-scientific calculator for the test. The calculator must also be an independent device, i.e. not part of a cell phone or any other electronic device.
- Candidates must store all personal items in a secure area as indicated by the administrator or return items to their vehicle. All electronic devices must be turned off before storing them in a locker. The test center is not responsible for lost, stolen, or misplaced personal items.
- Studying is not allowed in the test center.
- Visitors, children, family, and/or friends are not allowed in the test center.
- Dictionaries, books, papers (including scratch paper), and/or reference materials are not permitted in the examination room, and candidates are strongly urged not to bring such materials to the test center.
- When the candidate enters and is seated in the testing room, the test administrator will provide the candidate with materials to make notes or calculations. The candidate may not write on these items before the exam begins or remove these items from the testing room.
- Eating, drinking, chewing gum, smoking, and/or making noise that creates a disturbance for other candidates is prohibited during the exam.
- Break policies are established by the exam sponsor. Most sponsors allow unscheduled breaks.
- To request an unscheduled break, the candidate must raise his/her hand to get the administrator’s attention.
- The exam clock will not stop while the candidate is taking a break.
- Candidates must leave the testing room for all breaks. However, candidates are not permitted to leave the floor or building for any reason during this time, unless specified by the administrator and the exam sponsor. If a candidate is discovered to have left the floor or building, he/she will not be permitted to proceed with the examination and may forfeit the exam fees.
- If necessary, while taking a break, candidates are permitted to access personal items that are being stored during the exam—for example, personal medication that must be taken at a specific time. However, a candidate must receive permission from the administrator prior to accessing personal items that have been stored.
- Candidates are not allowed access to other items, including but not limited to cellular phones, exam notes, and study guides, unless the exam sponsor specifically permits this.
- Any candidate discovered causing a disturbance of any kind or engaging in any kind of misconduct—giving or receiving help; using notes, books, or other aids; taking part in an act of impersonation; or removing examination materials or notes from the examination room—will be summarily dismissed from the examination and will be reported to the state licensing agency. Decisions regarding disciplinary measures are the responsibility of the state licensing agency.
Each major lines examination (Life, Accident and Health, Property, Casualty) is given in a multiple-choice format.
The examination will contain “pretest” questions. Pretest questions are questions on which statistical information is being collected for use in constructing future examinations. Responses to pretest questions do not affect a candidate’s score. Pretest questions are mixed in with the scored questions and are not identified.
How is the exam scored?
The Department of Commerce and Insurance has selected 70 as the passing score for reporting purposes. Raw scores are converted into scaled scores that can range from a low of 0 to a high of 100. To avoid confusion about score information, numeric scores are only reported to failing candidates.
The passing score for each examination is determined by the Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance, and not by Pearson VUE. Candidates who pass the examination will receive a score report that reads “pass,” and no numeric score will be reported. Candidates who fail an examination will receive a numeric score. (Numeric scores are scaled scores, as described later in this handbook.) Candidates who fail receive diagnostic information relevant to each major area of the examination. Diagnostic information is intended to help failing candidates identify areas of strength and weakness in order to prepare for future examinations. The content outlines in this handbook can be used to interpret diagnostic information on the failing score report.
Applicants failing an examination for the first time must wait ten (10) days before retaking the examination. After each subsequent attempt an applicant must wait thirty (30) days before retaking the exam. An individual who has not successfully
passed the examination within six (6) months of the first attempt shall be required to retake pre-licensing education courses. Candidates who wish to make a reservation for a reexamination should follow the procedures listed in Exam Reservations;
reservations may not be made at the test center.
How long is the exam?
|Line of Authority||Exam Time||Total Questions|
|Life Agent||1 Hour and 45 Minutes||82|
|Accident & Health Agent||1 Hour and 45 Minutes||82|
|Property||1 Hour and 45 Minutes||82|
|Casualty||1 Hour and 45 Minutes||82|
|Personal Lines||2 Hours||117|
|Title||1 Hour||*Does Not Mention|
|Public Adjuster||1 Hour||*Does Not Mention|
3. Apply for a Tennessee Insurance License
Once you have passed your state licensing exam, you are ready to apply for an insurance license.
After passing the examination, apply for your license by submitting an application electronically through NIPR (www.nipr.com). If filing electronically, you must wait forty-eight (48) hours.
You will be assigned an NPN. This unique identifier is assigned through the licensing application process and is used to track individuals and business entities on a national basis. The NPN is used by many states to replace a producer license number.
4. Plan to Complete Required Insurance Continuing Education (CE) Credits
Every insurance producer must adhere to their home state’s CE requirements. Stay on top of your CE and ahead of the competition with 365 days of unlimited course access when you enroll in a CE library with Kaplan.
Learn how to renew a Tennessee insurance license by clicking here.