Our offices will be closed Thursday, November 26th and Friday, November 27th  in observance of the Thanksgiving Holiday. Technical Support will be available via email at kfeducation@kaplan.com during business hours. We look forward to serving you when we return Monday, November 30th.  

Our Live Online, Live & OnDemand, and Self-Study Online insurance licensing solutions provide a safe and convenient learning environment for our students, customers, and community. Select Your State »

Maine Insurance Licensing State Requirements

On this page, you will find all of the state-specific information for Insurance Licensing in the state of Maine. This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for non-resident license information, please refer to the Maine Department of Insurance website at http://www.maine.gov/pfr/insurance. Information is subject to change, and we will do our very best to make the process of completing your licensing education requirements as simple as possible.

Maine Department of Professional and Financial Regulation

Bureau of Insurance Licensing Division
#34 State House Station 
Augusta, ME 04333-0034
Phone: 207-624-8413
Fax: 207-624-8599
Website: http://www.maine.gov/pfr/insurance
Email: Insurance.PFR@maine.gov

COVID-19 Updates:

  • Effective 4/15/2020:
    • The Maine Bureau of Insurance will issue temporary insurance producer licenses to applicants who otherwise meet the requirements for licensure without requiring the successful completion of an examination. Temporary licenses issued pursuant to this Bulletin are subject to the following conditions:
      • Applicants seeking a temporary license must submit a temporary license application including all supplemental documents required by the application instructions.
      • Applications must be mailed, faxed, or emailed to the Bureau. Online applications are not available at this time.
      • Each temporary license applicant must have a licensed sponsor who will oversee the temporary licensee’s work and be accountable to the Bureau for all acts of the temporary licensee.
        The sponsor may be either:
        • a. A resident individual producer whose license is in good standing and who has been licensed with the Bureau of Insurance for a continuous five-year period; or
        • b. An insurance company authorized to do business in the state of Maine which will assume training and supervision responsibilities with respect to the temporary licensee. The sponsoring insurance company must appoint the temporary producer.
    • The Bureau reserves the right to refuse a temporary license to an applicant who has committed a ground for denial in accordance with 24-A M.R.S. § 1420-K(1). A temporary license will not be issued to an applicant with a felony conviction. A temporary licensee must secure an appointment with an authorized insurer before selling, soliciting, or negotiating insurance. The temporary license will expire on the earlier of 90 days after Pearson VUE reopens its facilities or 180 days after issuance, unless the term is otherwise extended by the Superintendent.
    • If a temporary licensee loses their sponsor or otherwise no longer meets the conditions for temporary licensure, the temporary license will be canceled. The temporary producer license will allow the producer to operate in Maine as a resident temporary producer. It is not intended to qualify the producer for non-resident licenses in other states, and Maine will not grant non-resident temporary producer licenses. Temporary licensees are responsible for compliance with all applicable provisions of the Maine Insurance Code. The Superintendent may revoke a temporary license if the interest of insureds or the public is endangered.

How to Get Your Maine Insurance License

1. Complete an Insurance Exam Prep Course

Those looking to earn a Maine insurance license have a significantly higher chance of passing their licensing exam when they complete one of Kaplan’s exam prep courses. Give yourself the best chance to pass before you sit for the state exam. 

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

  • The state of Maine does not require prelicensing education.
  • Although prelicensing education is not required, due to the difficulty and nature of these exams, Kaplan highly recommends enrolling in a study course.

Adjuster License Requirements

All insurance adjusters in Maine are required to be licensed. Because of its industry recognition and credibility, earning the Texas DHS Adjuster license is accepted as authorization to adjust in Maine and other states that recognize it.

The Texas P/C Adjuster license is highly respected in the industry and is available to individuals who want to designate Texas as their home state. This means you can qualify for the Texas P/C adjuster license just as a Texas resident adjuster would and complete the Texas bi-annual continuing education requirement. 

Kaplan’s Texas P/C Adjuster licensing course and exam is ideal for an adjuster seeking an adjuster license under the DHS concept. The course contains the actual state licensing exam for the Texas P/C Adjuster license; therefore, you can satisfy your Texas prelicensing requirement AND pass the Texas P/C Adjuster state licensing exam without having to leave your home or office. Upon completing the Kaplan course and successfully passing the exam, you can remotely apply for the Texas Property/Casualty Adjuster License using the procedures found on the Texas State Requirements page. This will qualify you to adjust in both your home state and numerous other states that accept the Texas DHS Adjuster license, including AL, CT, DE, GA, ID, IN, KY, LA, ME, MI, MN, MS, MT, NC, NH, NM, OK, RI, UT, VT, WA, WV, and WY.

Additionally, earning the Texas DHS Adjuster license enables you to adjust with enhanced credibility and industry expertise in CO, DC, IA, IL, KS, MA, MD, MO, ND, NE, PA, NJ, OH, SD, TN, VA, and WI.

Check with the Department of Insurance in your resident state and the states you wish to adjust to see how the Texas PC Adjuster license can be used in those states.

2. Pass Your Maine Licensing Exam

After completing your exam prep course, you must pass a state licensing exam. Kaplan’s exam prep content is based directly on the Maine licensing exams, so you will be prepared to pass the first time. 

Exam Provider: Pearson Vue

Frequently Asked Questions About the Maine Licensing Exam

After completing my exam prep, how should I prepare for exam day? 

Identification

Candidates must present two (2) forms of current signature identification at the test center. The primary identification must be government issued and photo-bearing with a signature, and the secondary identification must contain a valid signature. Identification must be in English. 

Primary ID (photograph and signature, not expired) 

  • Government-issued Driver’s License 
  • U.S. Dept. of State Driver’s License 
  • U.S. Learner’s Permit (plastic card only with photo and signature) 
  • National/State/Country Identification Card 
  • Passport 
  • Passport card 
  • Military ID 
  • Military ID for spouses and dependents 
  • Alien Registration Card (Green Card, Permanent Resident Visa) 

Secondary ID (signature, not expired) 

  • U.S. Social Security Card 
  • Debit (ATM) or Credit Card 
  • Any form of ID on the Primary list 

If the ID presented has an embedded signature that is not visible (microchip), or is difficult or impossible to read, the candidate must present another form of identification from the Primary ID or Secondary ID list which contains a visible signature. Pearson VUE does not recognize grace periods. For example, if a candidate’s driver’s license expired yesterday and the state allows a 30-day grace period for renewing the ID, the ID is considered to be expired.

Test Center

Candidates should report to the test center thirty (30) minutes before the examination and check in with the test center administrator. The candidate’s identification and other documentation will be reviewed and he/she will be photographed for the score report. Candidates are required to review and sign a Candidate Rules Agreement form. If the Candidate Rules Agreement is not followed and/or cheating or tampering with the examination is suspected, the incident will be reported as such and the appropriate action will be taken. The examination fee will not be refunded, the exam may be determined invalid, and/or the state may take further action such as prohibiting candidates from retaking the examination and/or denying a license.

The following policies are observed at each test center. Candidates who violate any of these policies will not be permitted to finish the examination and will be dismissed from the test center, forfeiting the examination fee. 

  • Calculators are permitted. Only silent, handheld, solar, or battery-operated, nonprogrammable calculators (without paper tapeprinting capabilities or alphabetic keypads) may be used. Calculators will be available ONLY at the Bangor and Westbrook test centers. 
  • No personal items are allowed in the testing room. Personal items include but are not limited to cellular phones, hand-held computers or other electronic devices, pagers, watches, wallets, purses, firearms or other weapons, hats, bags, coats, books, and/ or notes, pens, or pencils. 
  • Candidates must store all personal items in a secure area as indicated by the administrator, or return items to their vehicle. All electronic devices must be turned off before storing them in a locker. The test center is not responsible for lost, stolen, or misplaced personal items. 
  • Studying is not allowed in the test center. Visitors, children, family, or friends are not allowed in the test center. 
  • Dictionaries, books, papers (including scratch paper), and reference materials are not permitted in the examination room (unless permitted by the Maine Bureau of Insurance), and candidates are strongly urged not to bring such materials to the test center. Upon entering and being seated in the testing room, the test administrator will provide the candidate with materials to make notes or calculations and any other items specified by the Maine Bureau of Insurance. The candidate may not write on these items before the exam begins or remove these items from the testing room. 
  • Eating, drinking, chewing gum, smoking, and/or making noise that creates a disturbance for other candidates is prohibited during the exam. 
  • Break policies are established by the Maine Bureau of Insurance (the exam sponsor). Most sponsors allow unscheduled breaks. To request an unscheduled break, the candidate must raise his/her hand to get the administrator’s attention. The exam clock will not stop while the candidate is taking a break. 
  • Candidates must leave the testing room for all breaks. However, candidates are not permitted to leave the floor or building for any reason during this time, unless specified by the administrator and the exam sponsor. If a candidate is discovered to have left the floor or building, he/she will not be permitted to proceed with the examination and may forfeit the exam fees. 
  • While taking a break, candidates are permitted to access personal items that are being stored during the exam only if necessary— for example, personal medication that must be taken at a specific time. However, a candidate must receive permission from the administrator prior to accessing personal items that have been stored. Candidates are not allowed access to other items, including but not limited to cellular phones, exam notes, and study guides, unless the exam sponsor specifically permits this. 
  • Any candidate discovered causing a disturbance of any kind or engaging in any kind of misconduct—giving or receiving help; using notes, books, or other aids; taking part in an act of impersonation; or removing examination materials or notes from the examination room—will be summarily dismissed from the examination and will be reported to the state licensing agency. Decisions regarding disciplinary measures are the responsibility of the state licensing agency

What is the exam like? 

Pass/Fail

The minimum passing score for the exam is 70. When candidates complete the examination, they will receive a score report marked “pass” or “fail.” 

Candidates who pass the examination will receive a score report that includes information on how to apply for a license. 

Candidates who fail the examination will receive a score report that includes a numeric score and diagnostic information as well as information about reexamination. Reservations for reexamination are not made at the test center. Candidates must wait one (1) day before scheduling a reexamination.

Forms

There are multiple versions of each of the licensing examinations. These versions are known as forms. Although all forms of an examination are developed based on the content outlines, the difficulty of the forms of an examination may vary slightly because different questions appear on each form. 

To ensure that no candidate is put at an unfair advantage or disadvantage due to the particular form of an examination that he or she is given, a statistical procedure known as equating is used to correct for differences in form difficulty. For example, in an examination with two (2) forms, Form A and Form B, the state licensing agency determines that answering 30 questions correctly on Form A demonstrates the minimum amount of knowledge necessary to be licensed. It is further determined through the equating process that Form B contains slightly more difficult questions than Form A; therefore, answering 28 questions correctly on Form B would indicate the same level of knowledge as answering only 30 questions correctly on Form A. Under this set of circumstances, a score of 30 questions correct would be used as the passing score on Form A, whereas a score of 28 questions correct would be used as the passing score on Form B. 

A second statistical procedure known as scaling is used to derive the numerical score to report for each candidate. Scaling is used to place a raw score on a common reporting scale on which each scaled score represents a given level of knowledge regardless of the difficulty of the form on which the raw score was achieved. To illustrate how scaling works, suppose that in the examination example used above, the state licensing agency decides to use a score of 500 as the passing score for reporting purposes. (Note that the score selected to be used as the reported passing score is not related to, and has no bearing on, the difficulty of the examination.) Based on the information provided above, a raw score of 30 on Form A would translate to a scaled score of 500; a raw score of 28 on Form B would also translate to a scaled score of 500 since a raw score of 30 on Form A represents the same level of knowledge as a raw score of 28 on Form B. 

Scaled Score 

The passing score of an examination was set by the Maine Bureau of Insurance (in conjunction with Pearson VUE) after a comprehensive study was completed for each examination. Raw scores are converted into scaled scores that can range from 0 to 100. To avoid misuse of score information, numeric scores are only reported to failing candidates. The scaled score that is reported to you is neither the number of questions you answered correctly nor the percentage of questions you answered correctly. With a passing score of 70, any score below 70 indicates how close the candidate came to passing, rather than the actual number or percentage of questions the candidates answered correctly.

How long is the exam? 

Exam CodeLine of AuthorityExam TimeTotal Questions
12-ME-01Life, Accident, Health and Producer3 Hours and 30 minsNot stated
12-ME-03Property & Casualty Producer3 Hours and 30 minsNot stated
12-ME-41Life Producer1 Hour 45 minsNot stated
12-ME-42Accident & Health Producer2 HoursNot stated
12-ME-43Property Producer2 HoursNot stated
12-ME-44Casualty Producer2 HoursNot stated
12-ME-55Personal Lines2 HoursNot stated
12-ME-28Credit Producer45 MinsNot stated
12-ME-33Multiple-Peril Crop Insurance Adjuster60 MinsNot stated
12-ME-31Property and Casualty Adjuster60 MinsNot stated
12-ME-32Worker's Compensation Adjuster60 MinsNot stated
12-ME-46Life & Health Consultant1 Hour and 30 minsNot stated
12-ME-48Property & Casualty Consultant1 Hour and 45 minsNot stated
12-ME-83Title Producer45 MinsNot stated

 

3. Apply for a Maine Insurance License

Once you have passed your state licensing exam, you are ready to apply for an insurance license.

Applications can be submitted electronically via www.nipr.com or by downloading the paper application here and submit by email, fax, or regular mail. 

You will be assigned an NPN. This unique identifier is assigned through the licensing application process and is used to track individuals and business entities on a national basis. The NPN is used by many states to replace a producer license number.

4. Plan to Complete Required Insurance Continuing Education (CE) Credits

Every insurance producer must adhere to their home state’s CE requirements. Stay on top of your CE and ahead of the competition with 365 days of unlimited course access when you enroll in a CE library with Kaplan. 

Learn how to renew a Maine insurance license by clicking here.

Select a Line of Authority and Start Earning Your License Today:

Life & Health

This license qualifies you to explain, sell, and write life and health insurance products in Maine.

 

Property & Casualty

This license qualifies you to sell products designed to protect from financial issues as a result of damage or injury in Maine.

Personal Lines

This license qualifies you to sell a variety of insurance plans directly to consumers in Maine.

 

Adjuster

This license qualifies you to investigate and adjust any claim in connection with an insurance policy in Maine.