Thank you for visiting our redesigned Kaplan Financial website. Your voice matters. Complete our site survey and you could win one of five $50 Amazon gift cards.
Start our 4 question survey »
Welcome to the redesigned Kaplan Financial website. Save 15% on select products with promo code NewLook.  Learn More »

Indiana Insurance Licensing State Requirements

On this page, you will find all of the state-specific information for Insurance Licensing in the state of Indiana. This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for non-resident license information, please refer to the Indiana Department of Insurance website at  http://www.in.gov/idoiv. Information is subject to change, and we will do our very best to make the process of completing your licensing education requirements as simple as possible.

Indiana Department of Insurance

Producer and Agency Licensing
311 West Washington Street,  Suite 300  Indianapolis, IN, 46204 
Phone: 317-232-2412
Website: http://www.in.gov/idoi
Email: doi@state.in.us

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

  • Life & Health - 40 Hours
  • Life - 20 Hours
  • Health - 20 Hours
  • Personal & Commercial Property and Casualty - 40 Hours
  • Personal Lines Property and Casualty - 20 Hours

Exam Provider: Pearson VUE

Acceptable Methods of Education

  • Classroom
  • Self-study
  • Online

Online Course Requirements

Time Tracking: All orders placed after 3/4/2018 require that your online study time is tracked. To successfully complete your course, you must complete the required number of hours studying in the Course Contents Units of the online course. Your online course tracker will display in the upper right-hand corner of the page for your reference.

Certificate of Completion Requirements

  • Certificate of Completion is issued by the education provider at the end of the study course and is valid for six months.
  • Applicant must take the original Certificate of Completion with them to the test center on the day of the exam.

State Reporting Fees

The IN Department of Insurance requires a course reporting fee of $4.00 per course (online, self-study and classroom courses). This state reporting fee will be automatically charged to you (on the last credit card used in your account) each time you complete an online, self-study, or classroom course.

Exam and/or Prelicensing Education Exemptions

Applicants may be exempt from pre-licensing education requirements if they hold at least one of the following designations or certifications:

  • CLU®, CFP®, CFC, CPCU®, CIC, AAI

Note: If a waiver is granted, the applicant must take the waiver with them to the test center on the day of the exam.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Select a Line of Authority:

Life & Health

This license qualifies you to explain, sell, and write life and health insurance products in Indiana.

 

Property & Casualty

This license qualifies you to sell products designed to protect from financial issues as a result of damage or injury in Indiana.

Personal Lines

This license qualifies you to sell a variety of insurance plans directly to consumers in Indiana.

 

Adjuster

This license qualifies you to investigate and adjust any claim in connection with an insurance policy in Indiana.