Illinois Insurance Licensing State Requirements
On this page, you will find all of the state-specific information for insurance licensing in the state of Illinois. This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the Illinois Department of Insurance website at https://www.insurance.illinois.gov. Information is subject to change, and we will do our very best to make the process of completing your licensing education requirements as simple as possible.
Illinois Department of Insurance
- Effective 4/21/2020:
- Under the Illinois Emergency Management Agency Act, 20 ILCS 3305, and during the duration of the Gubernatorial Disaster Proclamations, the following specific provisions of the Illinois Insurance Code and their accompanying regulations, which require in-person education and/or exams within a certain time frame in order to maintain or obtain a professional insurance license are suspended only to the extent set forth below:
- The requirements for hours of classroom courses for insurance producer and public adjuster licensing and accompanying regulations are suspended to the extent necessary to permit required hours of coursework to be completed via webinar or other approved distance learning.
How to Get Your Illinois Insurance License
1. Complete an Insurance Prelicensing Course
Illinois requires those seeking an insurance license to complete prelicensing before taking the state licensing exam. Prelicensing courses with Kaplan give you the best chance to pass—our pass rates are among the highest in the industry.
Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements
- Life: 20 Hours*
- Accident/Health: 20 Hours*
- Fire (Property): 20 Hours*
- Casualty: 20 Hours*
- Personal Lines: 20 Hours*
* 7.5 of the 20 hours must be completed in a classroom setting.
Acceptable Methods of Education
Live Class Requirements
- Pre-Class Study (must be completed prior to attending the live class): 12.5 hours (Life Only), 12.5 hours (Health Only), 25 (Life and Health); 12.5 (Property Only), 12.5 (Casualty Only), 25 (Property and Casualty)
- In-Class Exam In Illinois, an in-class graded exam is given to test your readiness for the state exam. The test must be passed with a 70% or greater in order to receive a certificate of completion.
Prelicensing Education Exemptions
Applicants who have earned one or more of the following designations or certifications may be exempt from the prelicensing education requirements for the indicated lines of authority:
- Life: CEBS, ChFC®, CIC, CFP®, CLU®, FLMI, LUTCF
- Accident and Health: RHU, CEBS, REBC, HIA
- Property and Casualty: AAI, ARM, CIC, CPCU®
- A college degree in insurance
Adjuster License Requirements
The Texas Designated Home State (DHS) Adjuster license is available to an individual who is a resident of a state that does not license adjusters. This means you can obtain the Texas Property/Casualty Adjuster license just as a Texas resident adjuster would and complete the Texas bi-annual continuing education requirement. The Texas DHS Adjuster license is highly respected in the industry and can significantly enhance your credibility as an adjuster in your home state.
Kaplan’s online Property/Casualty Adjuster licensing course contains the actual state licensing exam for the Texas DHS Adjuster license; therefore, you can satisfy your Texas prelicensing requirement AND pass the Texas P/C Adjuster state licensing exam without having to leave your home or office. Upon completing the Kaplan course and successfully passing the exam, you can remotely apply for the Texas P/C Adjuster License using the procedures found on the Texas State Requirements page. This will qualify you to adjust in both your home state and numerous other states that accept the Texas DHS Adjuster license, including AL, CT, DE, GA, ID, IN, KY, LA, ME, MI, MN, MS, MT, NC, NH, NM, OK, RI, UT, VT, WA, WV, and WY.
Additionally, earning the Texas DHS Adjuster license enables you to adjust with enhanced credibility and industry expertise in CO, DC, IA, IL, KS, MA, MD, MO, ND, NE, PA, NJ, OH, SD, TN, VA, and WI.
Check with the Department of Insurance in your resident state and the states you wish to adjust to see how the Texas PC Adjuster license can be used in those states.
2. Pass Your Illinois Licensing Exam
After completing your required prelicensing course, you must pass a state licensing exam. Kaplan’s prelicensing content is based directly on the Illinois licensing exams, so you will be prepared to pass the first time.
Certificate of Completion Requirements
- Candidates will be required to show proof of pre-licensing completion at the test center before they will be allowed to sit for the exam.
- Prelicensing education certificates are valid for one year from the date of completion.
Exam Provider: Pearson VUE
- To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the Pearson VUE website at http://www.pearsonvue.com.
- To schedule an exam, contact Pearson VUE at http://www.pearsonvue.com or 800-274-0402.
- Individuals should allow five days after taking the Illinois state exam before applying for the state license.
Frequently Asked Questions About the Illinois Licensing Exam
After completing my prelicensing, how should I prepare for exam day?
Online reservations are the most efficient way for candidates to schedule their examination. Candidates must go to www.pearsonvue.com/il/insurance to make an online reservation for an examination. First-time users are required to create an account. The candidate will need to fill in all required fields, which are preceded by an asterisk (*), on the online form in order to create an ID and be assigned a password. Step-by-step instructions will lead the candidate through the rest of the examination reservation process. Candidates must make an online reservation at least twenty-four (24) hours before the desired examination date. Candidates who wish to make a phone reservation at (800) 274-0402 must do so at least twenty-four (24) hours before the desired examination date (unless an electronic check is used for payment, as detailed below).
Candidates who for religious reasons cannot take an examination offered only on Saturdays may request a non-Saturday examination date. Such a request must be put in writing on official stationery by the candidate’s religious advisor and faxed to (610) 617-9397 or mailed to Pearson VUE. Non-Saturday examinations are available only on a prearranged basis.
Before making a reservation, candidates should have the following:
- Legal name, address, Social Security number, daytime telephone number, and date of birth.
- The name of the examination(s).
- The preferred examination date and test center location (a list of test centers appears on the back cover of this handbook).
- A current copy of a signed Pre-License Course Certificate for all exams except Public Adjuster. The original certificate is not required but the certificate must be current. Acceptable forms of a copy can be a fax, an email, or can be on a device, such as a phone. All course completion certificates are valid for one (1) year from course completion date. Candidates must test within one (1) year of the prelicensing education course completion date.
- Only first time candidates will be required to present their Pre-License Course Completion Certificate before they are permitted to take the examination. Retake candidates are not required to present their certificate.
All candidates are required to bring identification that is deemed acceptable to the test center on the day of examination. Candidate must present two forms of current signature identification. The primary identification must be government-issued and
photo-bearing with a signature and the secondary identification must contain a valid signature. Identification must be in English.
Primary ID (photograph and signature, not expired)
- Government-issued Driver’s License
- U.S. Dept. of State Driver’s License
- U.S. Learner’s Permit (plastic card only with photo and signature)
- National/State/Country Identification Card
- Passport Card
- Military ID
- Military ID for spouses and dependents
- Alien Registration Card (Green Card, Permanent Resident Visa)
Secondary ID (signature, not expired)
- U.S. Social Security Card
- Debit (ATM) or Credit Card
- Any form of ID on the Primary list
If the ID presented has an embedded signature that is not visible (microchip), difficult or impossible to read, the candidate must present another form of identification from the Primary ID or Secondary ID list that contains a visible signature.
Pearson VUE does not recognize grace periods. For example, if a candidate’s driver’s license expired yesterday and the state allows a 30-day grace period for renewing the ID, the ID is considered to be expired.
What is the exam like?
The following policies are observed at each test center. Candidates who violate any of these policies will not be permitted to finish the examination and will be dismissed from the test center, forfeiting the examination fee.
- No personal items are allowed in the testing room. Personal items include but are not limited to: cellular phones, hand-held computers or other electronic devices, pagers, watches, wallets, purses, firearms or other weapons, hats, bags, coats, books, and/or notes, pens or pencils.
- Candidates must store all personal items in a secure area as indicated by the administrator, or return items to their vehicle. All electronic devices must be turned off before storing them in a locker. The test center is not responsible for lost, stolen, or misplaced personal items.
- Studying is not allowed in the test center. Visitors, children, family or friends are not allowed in the test center.
- Dictionaries, books, papers (including scratch paper), and reference materials are not permitted in the examination room (unless permitted by the exam sponsor), and candidates are strongly urged not to bring such materials to the test center. Upon entering and being seated in the testing room, the test administrator will provide the candidate with materials to make notes or calculations and any other items specified by the exam sponsor. The candidate may not write on these items before the exam begins or remove these items from the testing room.
- Eating, drinking, chewing gum, smoking, and/or making noise that creates a disturbance for other candidates is prohibited during the exam.
- Break policies are established by the exam sponsor. Most sponsors allow unscheduled breaks. To request an unscheduled break, the candidate must raise their hand to get the administrator’s attention. The exam clock will not stop while the candidate is taking a break.
- Candidates must leave the testing room for all breaks. However, candidates are not permitted to leave the floor or building for any reason during this time, unless specified by the administrator and the exam sponsor. If a candidate is discovered to have left the floor or building they will not be permitted to proceed with the examination and may forfeit the exam fees.
- While taking a break, candidates are permitted to access personal items that are being stored during the exam only if necessary— for example, personal medication that must be taken at a specific time. However, a candidate must receive permission from the administrator prior to accessing personal items that have been stored. Candidates are not allowed access to other items, including but not limited to, cellular phones, exam notes, and study guides, unless the exam sponsor specifically permits this.
- Any candidate discovered causing a disturbance of any kind or engaging in any kind of misconduct—giving or receiving help; using notes, books, or other aids; taking part in an act of impersonation; or removing examination materials or notes from the examination room—will be summarily dismissed from the examination and will be reported to the state licensing agency.
- Decisions regarding disciplinary measures are the responsibility of the state licensing agency.
How is the exam scored?
Each major line examination (Life, Accident and Health, Property, and Casualty) is given in a multiple-choice format and consists of two parts. Part 1 deals with basic insurance product knowledge. Part 2 deals with Illinois insurance laws, regulations, and practices.
Each examination section is separately timed, and candidates cannot return to a section once the time has expired.
The examination may contain pretest questions. Pretest questions are questions on which statistical information is being collected for use in constructing future examinations. Responses to pretest questions do not affect the score. Pretest questions are mixed in with the scored questions and are not identified.
When candidates complete the examination, they will receive a score report marked “pass” or “fail.” Candidates who pass the examination will receive a score report that includes information on how to apply for a license.
Candidates who fail the examination will receive a score report that includes a numeric score and diagnostic information relating to the general portion of the examination, as well as information about reexamination.
Each examination is divided into two parts: the general section and the state section. Candidates who pass one section of the examination and fail the other need retake only the failed section within 90 days. If after 90 days both sections have not been passed, it will be necessary to retake the entire examination. Illinois requires that candidates pass both parts of a major line examination within 90 days to be eligible for licensure. Candidates are responsible for knowing what part of an examination must be retaken, and for monitoring the 90 days.
Reservations for reexamination cannot be made at the test center. Candidates must wait 24 hours before making a reexamination reservation.
The information above does not apply to the Motor Vehicle and Public Adjuster examinations, each of which has only one section consisting of both general and state specific topics. For candidates who fail the Public Adjusters exam the first time, the law requires that these Public Adjuster candidates must wait 7 days before rescheduling and taking the examination. For candidates who fail the Public Adjusters exam the second or subsequent times, the law requires that these Public Adjuster candidates must wait 30 days before scheduling and taking the examination after each attempt.
How long is the exam?
|Exam Code||Line of Authority||Exam Time||Total Questions|
|InsIL-Life01||IL Life Producer - General||85||60|
|InsIL-Life01||IL Life Producer - State||50||39|
|InsIL-Life01S||IL Life Producer (Spanish)||No Mention||No Mention|
|InsIL-Health02||IL Accident and Health Producer - General||80||60|
|InsIL-Health02||IL Accident and Health Producer - State||55||47|
|InsIL-Health02S||IL Accident and Health (Spanish)||No Mention||No Mention|
|InsIL-Prop03||IL Property Producer - General||85||60|
|InsIL-Prop03||IL Property Producer - State||37||37|
|InsIL-Prop03S||IL Property Producer (Spanish)||No Mention||No Mention|
|InsIL-Cas04||IL Casualty Producer - General||80||60|
|InsIL-Cas04||IL Casualty Producer - State||55||44|
|InsIL-Cas04S||IL Casualty Producer (Spanish)||No Mention||No Mention|
|InsIL-Pers55||IL Personal Lines||90||86|
|InsIL-Pers55||IL Personal Lines||45||37|
|InsIL-Pers55S||IL Personal Lines (Spanish)||No Mention||No Mention|
|InsIL-PubAdj17||IL Public Adjuster||165||100|
|InsIL-PubAdj17S||IL Public Adjuster (Spanish)||No Mention||No Mention|
|InsIL-MotVeh76||IL Motor Vehicle||75||50|
|InsIL-MotVeh76S||IL Motor Vehicle (Spanish)||No Mention||No Mention|
3. Apply for Illinois Insurance License
Once you have passed your state licensing exam, you are ready to apply for an insurance license. After 5 days, you may apply for your license at www.nipr.com.
You will be assigned an NPN. This unique identifier is assigned through the licensing application process and is used to track individuals and business entities on a national basis. The NPN is used by many states to replace a producer license number.
4. Plan to Complete Required Insurance Continuing Education (CE) Credits
Every insurance producer must adhere to their home state’s CE requirements. Stay on top of your CE and ahead of the competition with 365 days of unlimited course access when you enroll in a CE library with Kaplan.
Learn how to renew Illinois insurance license by clicking here.