Alabama Insurance Licensing State Requirements
Alabama Department of Insurance
Effective 04/01/2021, the notary requirement on the prelicensing certificate of completion is waived through May 31, 2021.
Effective 12/23/2020, the notary requirement on the prelicensing certificate of completion is waived through March 31, 2021.
Effective 10/1/2020: The notary requirement on the prelicensing certificate of completion is waived through December 31, 2020.
Effective 8/31/2020: The notary requirement on the prelicensing certificate of completion is waived through the end of September 2020.
Effective 5/26/2020: The Certificate of Completion for any prelicensing course which expires between March-July 2020 is hereby extended to the following: March: 120 days past the stated expiration date on the certificate. April or May: 90 days past the stated expiration date on the certificate. June: 60 days past the stated expiration date on the certificate. July: 30 days past the stated expiration date on the certificate. Please note: limitations on repeat examinations are still in effect.
Effective 4/30/2020: AL is issuing temporary producer licenses during the COVID-19 emergency. A temporary producer is an Alabama resident who is required to be licensed under the laws of the state to sell, solicit, or negotiate insurance and who is otherwise qualified for a producer license except for having passed the written examination for Life, Health, Property, Casualty, or Personal Lines. A temporary producer license is only valid if the producer is sponsored and appointed by an insurance company. The temp license is a once in a lifetime license per line of authority and is valid for a maximum of 6 months from the date of issuance, during which time the producer should be actively engaged in a prelicensing course for the line/lines of authority.
How to Get Your Alabama Insurance License
1. Complete an Insurance Prelicensing Course
Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements
- Life: 20 Hours
- Accident & Health or Sickness: 20 Hours
- Life and Accident & Health or Sickness: 40 Hours
- Property: 20 Hours
- Casualty: 20 Hours
- Property and Casualty: 40 Hours
Personal Lines: 20 Hours
Acceptable Methods of Education
Prelicensing Education Exemptions
Applicants who hold one or more of the following designations or certifications are exempt from prelicensing education and exam requirements for the indicated line of authority:
- Life, Accident & Health or Sickness, and Variable Life/Annuity - CLU®
Property, Casualty, and Personal Lines - CPCU®, CIC
A complete list of prelicensing course exemptions can be found here.
Note: Examination certificates are valid for one year from the date of completion.
All insurance adjusters in Alabama are required to be licensed.
- Property and Casualty including: 40-hour course on Property & Casualty to include Workers Compensation and Crop
- Property and Casualty excluding: 20-hour course on Property & Casualty
- Workers Compensation: 20-hour course on Workers Compensation
- Crop: 20-hour course on Crop Insurance
2. Pass Your Alabama Licensing Exam
Certificate of Completion Requirements
- Applicants must present an original Certificate of Completion from an approved prelicensing provider when they arrive at the test center.
- The certificate of completion must be notarized by the Provider and will be emailed to the address on file in your account.
Prelicensing course certificates are valid for one year from the date of course completion.
- If you have never tested before, you will need to create a new account.
- Each person testing needs to have their own email address and create their own account. Multiple people cannot use the same email address to register for an exam.
- Registration requires a credit card.
- You must register at least 7 days in advance of the day you wish to test, before midnight. You are not registered until you receive an email confirming that we have received your payment.
- These tests are nonrefundable and nontransferable.
- You must arrive 15 minutes before the start time of the exam. This allows time for the proctor to verify your information.
- You must have a notarized copy of your prelicensing course Certificate of Completion printed and physically in hand.
- Name on certificate must match name on identification and name on exam registration.
- Certificates of Completion are valid for one year from the date of issuance.
- A copy or original of the certificate of course completion is acceptable.
- Certificate must show notary signature and notary stamp.
- Prelicensing course must match test.
- You must have valid identification. The following forms of ID are acceptable:
- Valid driver's license or non-driver photo ID
- Valid passport
- Military identification
- Employee ID card
- If you register for an exam that you are ineligible to take, you forfeit the fee and must submit another registration and fee.
- If you are late, by the local time at the test location, you automatically forfeit the exam fee.
- You may not substitute another person for your registration. Children are not allowed in the testing facility.
- Exceptions may be granted, but only in the case of a medical emergency, an auto accident, or a family death
- The exam is computer generated.
- You will be given a calculator.
- All questions are in a multiple-choice format.
- Each question has four possible answers.
- You may skip questions without answering them.
- You will be able to go back and answer the skipped questions before submitting the test, if time allows.
- You will also be able to change your answers to any of the questions before submitting the test, and if time allows.
- Rooms are under video surveillance.
- The following items are prohibited in the testing area: Bags, purses, paper, books, study materials, calculators, cell phones, laptops, tablets, food, and beverages.
- Test-takers may not leave the room during an exam without permission from the exam proctor.
- Test-takers may not give or receive help or copy answers.
Scrap paper is not allowed, but calculators are provided.
How are the exams scored?
- Your exam score is based on the number of questions you answer correctly.
- Every unanswered question counts as incorrect. So, it is better to try answering these questions with an educated guess by eliminating the wrong answers.
- The computer will give you automatic alerts to tell you how much time is left.
- When the time for an examination expires, you will be given a "final" warning, and the examination will be graded based on the questions answered when time is up.
- There are 158 total questions, but only 150 countable questions.
- The Alabama Department of Insurance test questions prior to adding them to an exam. The 8 extra questions are sporadically placed within the exam to see how well test takers respond to the questions before making any of the questions as part of the exam.
- 70 percent or more correct answers is considered a passing score.
- If time allows, you will be given the opportunity to review the questions that you missed.
- Your examination will be graded immediately upon submission.
- Call the examination proctor to your computer to verify your score as soon as the exam results are displayed on your computer screen.
- The certificate verifying that you passed the exam will not be awarded until the proctor verifies the results.
If You Pass:
- You will be provided with a certificate that shows you’ve passed the examination.
- You will also be provided with instructions on how to complete the application process and receive your license.
- Your grades will be reported within 3-5 days electronically to the State of Alabama Department of Insurance.
- After passing your exam, you must complete the Fingerprint background check
- You should seek to get fingerprinted one day before applying for the license.
- Once you have completed the Fingerprint background check, visit the Alabama Department of Insurance website.
- Under Producers/Agents, click on apply for license, select producer (Individuals), roll down to initial licensing process and click on online application.
- Complete the NIPR electronic resident licensing online application and submit Proof of Citizenship. Please allow three days for your grades to appear within NIPR.
If You Fail:
- You will need to schedule another exam attempt online; please keep in mind that all tests must be scheduled seven days in advance.
- You will also need to pay the registration fee again for every attempt.
- There are waiting periods specific to each attempt:
Fail Any Attempt After Wait 180 Days After Each Time
- The Alabama Department of Insurance's Limitations on Repeat Examinations link can be found here.
How long is the exam?
|Producer Exam||# Correct to Pass||Total # on Test||Time Allotted|
|Life & Health||105||150||3 Hours|
2 Hours 30 Minutes
|Property & Casualty||105||150||3 Hours|
|Casualty||87||125||2 Hours 30 Minutes|
|Personal Lines||70||100||2 Hours|
|Bail Bonds||35||50||1 Hour|
|Adjuster Exam||# Correct to Pass||# on Test||Time Allotted|
|Worker's Compensation (WC)||70||100||1 Hour 40 Minutes|
|Property & Casualty (no WC)||87||125||2 Hours 30 Minutes|
|Crop||70||100||1 Hour 40 Minutes|
|Property & Casualty w/WC & Crop||105||150||3 Hours|
More details are available on the State of Alabama Department of Insurance's website: www.aldoi.gov/Licensing/ExamOutlines.aspx
3. Get Fingerprinted
Fingerprinting registration is done online at:
Applicants applying for license classes that require fingerprinting must submit an application within 30 days after completing their fingerprinting check. The fingerprint results will remain in the Alabama system only for 30 days after the applicant has completed their fingerprint check. If the application reaches the DOI after those 30 days, the applicant will have to get fingerprinted again and repay the required fee.
Individual Resident applicants amending their current license that requires fingerprinting must take a fingerprinting check if they have not previously gotten one or the license that was issued from the previous fingerprint check has been issued for more than one year.