On this page, you will find all of the state-specific information for Insurance CE in the state of Wisconsin.
All life insurance licensees who wish to engage in the sale of annuities must complete a one-time, four-hour annuity training course.
Mandatory Training Requirements
An insurance intermediary who sells, solicits, or negotiates long-term care insurance products must be licensed and appointed by an insurer and must complete the initial and ongoing long-term care training.
Initial training shall be no less than 8 hours, of which 2 hours must contain Wisconsin-specific Medicaid and long-term care information.
After completion of the initial training, all intermediaries must complete one 4-hour training course specific to long-term care insurance every 24 months concurrent with each individual's license renewal period, of which 1 hour must contain Wisconsin-specific Medicaid training.
The training must include, but not need be limited to, long-term care state and federal regulation, available long-term care services and providers, alternatives to the purchase of private long-term care insurance, effects of inflation, insurance suitability standards and guidelines.
A non-resident intermediary who has satisfied the training requirement in another state will be deemed to satisfy the training requirement in Wisconsin, except for the initial 2 hours of Wisconsin-specific Medicaid and long-term care information training. In addition, non-resident intermediaries must complete one credit hour of Wisconsin-specific Medicaid training every 24 months concurrent with each individual's license renewal period.
Each insurer is responsible for ensuring that intermediaries marketing their long-term care products have completed the required training and to track and maintain records regarding this training. Intermediaries should contact the insurers with which they are appointed to sell long-term care for additional information on training and the manner in which they must document and report to insurers.
For more information, please refer to s. Ins 3.46 (26), Wis. Adm. Code.
This state has issued a notice reminding licensees who sell flood insurance of their requirement to comply with the minimum 3 hours of training requirements established by FEMA and the National Flood Insurance Program.
Intermediaries may fulfill the continuing education requirements by earning the required credit hours from courses taught in any or all of the major lines. A list of continuing education courses are available at State Based Systems (SBS).
All intermediaries holding a Wisconsin insurance license in any of the major lines of life, accident and health, property, casualty, personal lines P&C, or in the limited line of automobile must complete 24 credit hours in each biennium. Three (3) of the 24 hours must cover ethics in insurance.
Credits must be recorded by Kaplan by the license expiration date. Kaplan has 10 days to bank credits from the date all required information is received from the student. Please allow for this 10-day processing time when planning your CE course completion.
Non-residents who comply with resident CE requirements are exempt from Wisconsin CE requirements.
Nonresidents who satisfy the Annuity training requirements of another state that are similar to Wisconsin’s law will be deemed compliant for Wisconsin’s requirement.
Course repetition is not permitted within the compliance/renewal period.
Online certification exams are closed book. Course materials are not available while the exam is in progress. The final exam must be passed with a score of 70% or higher to receive CE credit. If the exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.
A proctored final examination is required for online courses. The proctor must be a disinterested third party or currently licensed agent with no family or financial relationship with the agent. A friend can be a “proctor” as long as the friend has no financial relationship with the agent. The proctor must verify the agent’s identity and complete an affidavit supplied by the approved provider attesting that the agent received no outside assistance. Membership in a professional association/organization does not constitute a financial relationship.
Wisconsin resident licensees must complete their CE requirements prior to the last day of his or her birth month every two years.
Carryover of CE hours is not permitted.
Report within 10 days of course completion. Need agent’s Wisconsin license number to report.
Effective 12/14/2015, the Wisconsin Office of the Insurance Commissioner will require a course reporting fee of $1.00 per credit hour (online, self-study and classroom courses). This reporting fee will be automatically charged to you (on the last credit card used in your account) each time you complete an online, self-study, or classroom course.
Any person teaching an approved course shall receive the same number of hours as his or her students.
Acceptable Training Methods
This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.
Total Access CE from Kaplan Financial Education lets you take all the online continuing education courses you want for one price.
Total Access CE - Life & Health lets you take all the online continuing education courses you want for one price.
Total Access CE - Property & Casualty lets you take all the online continuing education courses you want for one price.