Washington Insurance Continuing Education State Requirements
On this page, you will find all of the state-specific information for Insurance CE in the state of Washington.
Washington State Office of the Insurance Commissioner
Transcript: Only Licensees can Access - Click Here for Link
Effective 4/28/2020: WA will allow licensees to request an extension until 7/31/2020 if their license expires between 3/1/2020 and 6/30/2020, and the licensee has experienced a hardship related to COVID-19. Licensees must request an extension in writing. If you already renewed your license and paid a late fee, you may be eligible for a refund of the late fee.
Long-Term Care Training
Individuals selling long-term care insurance and/or Long-Term Care Partnership insurance must earn 8 credits (counted as part of the total 24 credit requirement) from a course approved for Long-Term Care credit concerning Washington long-term care regulations. Any Long-Term Care courses approved only for general credits do NOT meet this requirement. In addition, a 4-hour “refresher” course must be completed every 2 years. This requirement applies to both resident and nonresident agents who sell to Washington residents.
Producers looking to sell Annuity Products must complete the one-time, four-hour annuity suitability course prior to selling annuity products.
All Other State Requirements
Each resident life, disability, property or casualty insurance agent, broker or solicitor is required to complete twenty-four (24) hours of approved continuing education as a pre-requisite to license renewal or re-issuance (reinstatement). Three of those
hours must be Ethics.
All producers who sell flood insurance must complete a one-time 3 hours course on flood insurance and the National Flood Insurance Program.
Non-residents must meet the LTC requirement if they sell LTC insurance or LTC Partnership insurance.
Course repetition is not permitted within the compliance/renewal period.
Effective July 1, 2015, producers may take a course once each license renewal period.
Online certification exams are closed book. Course materials are not available while the exam is in progress. The final exam must be passed with a score of 70% or higher to receive CE credit. If the exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.
Washington resident licensees must complete their CE requirements 24 months from the date their license was issued.
Carryover of CE hours is not permitted.
Report within 10 days of completion. Weekly reporting. Need Agent’s WAOIC number to report.
Individuals who are at least 65 years of age, are retired from active selling of insurance products and no longer represent any insurer or insurance agency are exempt from CE requirements.
Individuals who believe that good cause exists may request a waiver of the continuing education requirement.
Individuals holding limited licenses for credit life and disability, credit casualty, travel, vehicle, or surety are exempt from CE requirements.
Acceptable Training Methods
- Online (Internet Delivery)
- Correspondence (Print)
- Company Seminars
- CBT/CD-ROM (Computer-Based Training)
This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.
View our Washington Total Access CE options:
Total Access CE
Recommended - 80+ Courses
Total Access CE from Kaplan Financial Education lets you take all the online continuing education courses you want for one price.
Life & Health
Total Access CE
Access to 45+ Courses
Total Access CE - Life & Health lets you take all the online continuing education courses you want for one price.
Property & Casualty
Total Access CE
Access to 50+ Courses
Total Access CE - Property & Casualty lets you take all the online continuing education courses you want for one price.