Texas Insurance Continuing Education State Requirements
On this page you will find all of the state specific information for Insurance CE in the state of Texas.
Texas Department of Insurance
333 Guadalupe, Austin, TX 78701
P.O. Box 149104, Austin, TX 78714
Effective 3/24/2020: For those agents with licenses set to expire in March or April, Texas Department of Insurance will extend the time to renew a license by two months and waive late fees. They will also allow agents more time to complete continuing education and waive continuing education fines.
Annuity Best Interest Training Requirements (Updated September 2021)
A producer who engages in the sale of annuity products must complete a one-time, 4-credit training course approved by the Department of Insurance and provided by the Department of Insurance-approved education provider. Producers may not engage in the sale of annuities until the annuity training requirement has been completed.
A producer who has completed a 4-credit annuity suitability training course approved by the Department of Insurance prior to 9/1/2021 must, within 4 months after the 9/1/2021 date, complete one of the following:
- A new 4-credit annuity best interest training course approved by the Department of Insurance after 9/1/2021.
- A one-time, 1-credit annuity best interest training course approved by the Department of Insurance and provided by a Department of Insurance-approved education provider on appropriate sales practices and replacement and disclosure requirements. This must be completed no later than 12/31/2021, and it will not be available in 2022.
Texas requires producers to complete 8 hours of continuing education that specifically relates to annuities during the producer’s 2-year licensing period. Resident producers may use the 4-hour Best Interest (BI) course to satisfy part of the 8-hour annuity CE required during the agent’s 2-year licensing period.
Long-Term Care Training
Before selling long-term care (LTC) partnership policies in Texas, agents must hold a current Life, Accident and Health license and shall have completed an 8-hour LTC partnership certification course. Licensed agents may count an LTC partnership certification course toward completion of their CE requirements.
In addition to the Long-Term Care (LTC) partnership certification course, in each reporting period following the reporting period in which a licensee completed the certification course, the licensee must also complete at least four hours of department-certified CE. These hours may be applied to the total CE requirement.
This state has issued a notice reminding licensees who sell flood insurance of their requirement to comply with the minimum 3 hours of training requirements established by FEMA and the National Flood Insurance Program.
All Other State Requirements
All Texas resident licensees (producers and adjusters) must complete 24 hours of CE every 2 year reporting period, including 2 hours of ethics (EFFECTIVE 09/01/2021, the ethics requirement will increase from 2 hours to 3 hours). At least half (12 hrs) of the CE hours must be completed in a classroom setting or with classroom equivalent courses. Courses are no longer divided by license type; therefore, they may be taken in either General and/or Ethics/CP.
This state has issued a notice reminding licensees who sell flood insurance of their requirement to comply with the minimum training requirements established by FEMA and the National Flood Insurance Program.
Non Resident Requirements
Non-residents, who comply with CE requirements of the resident state, are exempt from Texas CE requirements.
Agents wishing to sell, solicit, or negotiate a contract for Medicare products in Texas are required to complete an eight-hour initial certification course (able to be used to satisfy general CE) prior to selling, soliciting, or negotiating a contract for a Medicare product.
Agents must complete four hours of continuing education that specifically relates to Medicare-related products during the agent’s two-year reporting period.
Course repetition is not permitted within the compliance/renewal period.
Online certification exams are closed book. Course materials are not available while the exam is in progress. The final exam must be passed with a score of 70% or higher to receive CE credit. If the exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.
Classroom Equivalency Courses
Students taking Classroom Equivalency (CLEQ) courses must complete the Feedback unit found at the end of the course in order for the course to be considered complete.
Texas resident and nonresident licensees must complete their CE requirements before the last day of their birth month every two years.
Carryover of CE hours is not permitted.
Report within 30 days of course completion. Need student’s Texas license number to report.
State Reporting Fees
The Texas Department of Insurance requires a course reporting fee of $.88 per credit hour (online, self-study and classroom courses). This state reporting fee will be automatically charged to you (on the last credit card used in your account) each time you complete an online, self-study, or classroom course.
The 20 years of licensure needed to qualify for an exemption must be continuous (i.e., no breaks greater than 90 days) and the license must be held under the Texas Insurance Code.
Acceptable Training Methods
- Correspondence (Print)
- Company Seminars
- CBT/CD-ROM (Computer-Based Training)
- Online (Internet Delivery)
- Classroom Equivalent
This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.
View our Texas Total Access CE options:
Total Access CE
Recommended - 80+ Courses
Total Access CE from Kaplan Financial Education lets you take all the online continuing education courses you want for one price.
Life & Health
Total Access CE
Access to 45+ Courses
Total Access CE - Life & Health lets you take all the online continuing education courses you want for one price.
Property & Casualty
Total Access CE
Access to 50+ Courses
Total Access CE - Property & Casualty lets you take all the online continuing education courses you want for one price.