On this page, you will find all of the state-specific information for Insurance CE in the state of Rhode Island.
An insurance producer who engages in the sale of annuity products shall complete a one-time four (4) credit training course approved by the department of insurance and provided by the department of insurance approved education provider. Individuals who obtain a life insurance line of authority may not engage in the sale of annuities until the required annuity training course has been completed.
Producers must complete an initial training course prior to selling long-term care products and ongoing training every 24 months thereafter. The initial training must consist of 8 hours; ongoing training must be at least 4 hours. The training requirement applies to both residents and non-residents, although non-residents meeting the same requirement for another state will satisfy this state’s requirement. Residents may earn CE credit if the training was approved for CE.
This state has issued a notice reminding licensees who sell flood insurance of their requirement to comply with the minimum 3 hours of training requirements established by FEMA and the National Flood Insurance Program.
Licensees must complete 24 hours, including 3 hours of ethics biennially.
This state has issued a notice reminding licensees who sell flood insurance of their requirement to comply with the minimum training requirements established by FEMA and the National Flood Insurance Program.
Non-residents, who comply with CE requirements of the resident state, are exempt from Rhode Island CE requirements. Non-residents must comply with the LTC training requirement. Non-residents must still pay the CE tracking fee, which is included in the license renewal fees.
Producers may not take the same course more than once in a compliance period.
Online certification exams are closed book. Course materials are not available while the exam is in progress. The final exam must be passed with a score of 70% or higher to receive CE credit. If the exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.
Rhode Island licensees expire on the last day of the licensee’s birth month biennially.
Up to 12 excess CE credits accumulated during a biennial license cycle may be carried forward through the end of the next renewal period. Excess ethics credits will be carried over as general credits during the biennial license cycle.
Reported within 10 days of completion. Need agent’s state license number or NPN to report.
State Reporting Fees
The RI Department of Insurance will require a course reporting fee of $1.00 per credit hour (online, self-study and classroom courses). This state reporting fee will be automatically charged to you (on the last credit card used in your account) each time you complete an online, self-study, or classroom course.
Individuals acting as instructors for continuing education courses receive the same amount of CE credit as his or her students receive for taking the class.
Rhode Island residents, who are at least 60 years old and have held license for 20 consecutive years, are exempt from CE requirements.
Individuals who are at least 55 years old and have held a Rhode Island license continuously for 25 years without lapse at time of license renewal are exempt.
Acceptable Training Methods
This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.
Total Access CE from Kaplan Financial Education lets you take all the online continuing education courses you want for one price.
Total Access CE - Life & Health lets you take all the online continuing education courses you want for one price.
Total Access CE - Property & Casualty lets you take all the online continuing education courses you want for one price.