An individual may not sell, solicit, or negotiate long-term care insurance unless the individual is licensed as an insurance producer for Accident and Health/Sickness and Medicare Supplement/Long-Term Care.
Each licensee who holds an Accident and Health/Sickness license and a Medicare/Supplement Long-Term Care limited lines license shall complete 8 hours of continuing education in Long-Term Care Partnership prior to selling, soliciting or negotiating a Qualified Partnership policy.
Each licensee shall complete 4 hours of continuing education in Long-Term Care Partnership every biennial compliance period thereafter.
Transcripts: Click Here for Link
All Agents must complete 24 hours of CE biennially - including 3 hours of Ethics training.
Property, Casualty, and Personal Lines Agents and Adjusters must complete 3 hours on flood insurance and the National Flood Insurance Program every four years as part of their overall CE requirement.
Adjusters are required to complete 24 hours biennially - including 3 hours of Ethics training.
Nonresident agents are exempt from North Carolina CE requirements if meeting the home state requirement.
Non-resident adjuster CE requirements vary depending on licensure in your resident state or the state in which you took an exam in order to qualify for your North Carolina non-resident license:
Course repetition is not permitted within the compliance/renewal period.
Online certification exams are closed book. Course materials are not available while the exam is in progress. The final exam must be passed with a score of 70% or higher to receive CE credit. If the exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.
Individual licensee’s compliance date will be determined by the licensee’s birth month and birth year, odd or even. CE requirements must be completed by the last day of the licensee’s birth month every two years.
There are no minimum or maximum requirements for CE credit hours to carry over. Any amount over the required number of CE hours will carry forward to the next biennial compliance period. Any excess ethics or flood CE credits will carry over as general credits.
Report within 15 days of completion. Need Agent’s NPN. The National Producer Number (NPN) is required for reporting.
The NC Department of Insurance requires a course reporting fee of $1.65 per credit hour (online, self-study and classroom courses). This state reporting fee will be automatically charged to you (on the last credit card used in your account) each time you complete an online, self-study, or classroom course.
As of October 1, 2010, CE exemptions are no longer granted based on age 65 or older, 25 years of continuous licensure, and either a holder of a professional designation or an inactive agent who neither solicits applications for insurance nor takes part in the day to day operation of an agency.
CE Exemptions are only granted to licensees based on medical disability or active military service. All CE requirements are waived, including the Ethics and Flood hours.
Licensees may receive up to 4 continuing education credits for participation in an approved professional industry organization or in national industry association meetings.
This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.