Montana Insurance Continuing Education State Requirements
On this page, you will find all of the state-specific information for Insurance CE in the state of Montana.
State of Montana Department of Insurance
Transcripts: Click Here for Link
An individual licensed to act as an insurance producer or adjuster other than limited lines credit or surety bail bonds shall, during each 24-month period, complete at least 24 credit hours of approved continuing education, including at least 3 hours
of ethics credits and at least 1 credit hour on changes in Montana insurance statutes and administrative rules.
Producer licensees with only the line of limited lines credit must complete 5 credit hours of Montana-approved insurance continuing education in the categories of credit life and credit disability insurance, insurance law and/or ethics. A minimum of one credit must address legislative changes to Montana insurance statutes.
Non-residents are exempt from Montana CE requirements but are required to file a summary report form and license renewal fee by biennial deadline.
Annuities and Long-Term Care training are tracked by the carrier and are not CE requirements.
Annuity Best Interest Training Requirement
A producer who engages in the sale of annuity products must complete a one-time, 4-credit training course approved by the Department of Insurance and provided by the Department of Insurance-approved education provider. Producers may not engage in the sale of annuities until the annuity training requirement has been completed.
A producer who has completed a 4-credit annuity suitability training course approved by the Department of Insurance prior to 10/01/2021 must, within 6 months after the 10/01/2021 effective date, complete either:
- a new 4-credit annuity best interest training course approved by the Department of Insurance after the 10/01/2021 date; or
- an additional one-time, 1-credit annuity best interest training course approved by the Department of Insurance and provided by a Department of Insurance-approved education provider on appropriate sales practices and replacement and disclosure requirements.
Long-Term Care Training
Agents wishing to sell long-term care insurance must complete an initial 8-hour course prior to selling, soliciting or negotiating long-term care insurance, and 4 hours of long-term care insurance training biennially thereafter. Hours may be used
to satisfy the overall continuing education requirement as long as the training course has been approved for continuing education credit.
Non-residents who meet the training requirements in any state will satisfy the training requirements in this state.
Courses may not be repeated within the same licensing period.
Online certification exams are closed book. Course materials are not available while the exam is in progress. The final exam must be passed with a score of 70% or higher to receive CE credit. If the exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.
Online exams must be monitored by a disinterested third party. A disinterested third party certifies that the licensee completed the exam without assistance (i.e., closed book, no tiling, layering of screens, etc.) and is someone who has no financial
interest in the success or failure of the student’s ability to maintain their license. The monitor must complete the online Declaration of Compliance.
If the licensee launches the exam without a monitor present, he/she will be disqualified from receiving CE credit for the course. Completion of the Declaration of Compliance acknowledges understanding and adherence to the specific requirements outlined by the State Department of Insurance. The Declaration of Compliance is electronically transmitted to Kaplan upon completion of the exam and may be audited for compliance purposes.
Montana resident licensees must complete their CE requirements by the first day of their birth month biennially.
There is no rollover or carry over of excess credit hours earned in one biennial period to the next biennial period.
Report within 30 days of completion. Need Agent’s License Number to report.
State Reporting Fees
The MT Department of Insurance requires a course reporting fee of $1.00 per credit hour (online, self-study and classroom courses). This state reporting fee will be automatically charged to you (on the last credit card used in your account) each time you complete an online, self-study, or classroom course.
Licensed Instructors will be credited with two times the number of approved credit hours of the course(s) they instruct.
Acceptable Training Methods
- Online (Internet Delivery)
- Correspondence (Print)
- Company Seminars
- CBT/CD-ROM (Computer-Based Training)
This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.
View our Montana Total Access CE options:
Total Access CE
Recommended - 80+ Courses
Total Access CE from Kaplan Financial Education lets you take all the online continuing education courses you want for one price.
Life & Health
Total Access CE
Access to 45+ Courses
Total Access CE - Life & Health lets you take all the online continuing education courses you want for one price.
Property & Casualty
Total Access CE
Access to 50+ Courses
Total Access CE - Property & Casualty lets you take all the online continuing education courses you want for one price.