Louisiana Insurance Continuing Education State Requirements
On this page, you will find all of the state-specific information for Insurance CE in the state of Louisiana.
Louisiana Department of Insurance
Effective 4/17/2020: Insurance producers and adjusters with a renewal date of April 30, 2020 is extended until May 12, 2020. Subsequent renewals will return to the last date of the birth month of the individual for the renewal period following this extension.
New producers must complete a one-time, four-hour training course that has been approved by the Louisiana Department of Insurance prior to engaging in the sale of annuity products.
Insurance producers who already hold a life insurance line of authority, must complete the one-time, four-hour training course. An individual who holds a life line of authority and has satisfied the training requirements in another state with substantially similar requirements, shall be deemed to have satisfied the training requirements of Louisiana.
Long-Term Care Training
Laws enacted in SB669 prohibit an individual from selling, soliciting, or negotiating long-term care insurance unless the individual is licensed as an insurance producer for health and accident or life and has completed a one-time training course and subsequent ongoing training every 2 years.
The initial training course is required to be no less than 8 hours and ongoing training of no less than 4 hours every 2 years. Insurers are required to obtain verification that a producer receives the required training before being permitted to sell, solicit or negotiate the insurer’s long-term care insurance products. Insurers are required to maintain records subject to the state’s record retention requirements, and make the verification of training available to the commissioner upon request.
Satisfaction of these training requirements in any state is deemed to satisfy the training requirements in this state.
All Other State Requirements
Producers licensed for one or more of the lines of life, health and accident, property, casualty or personal lines are required to earn 24 hours of approved CE credit every 2-year reporting period.
These 24 hours shall include a minimum of three (3) hours dedicated to the subject of ethics. Adjusters must complete ethics courses approved for adjuster-ethics.
The CE hours for an insurance producer with the lines of property, casualty or personal lines must include three (3) hours of education in flood.
Non-residents, who comply with the CE requirements of their resident state, are exempt from Louisiana CE requirements.
Course repetition is not permitted within the compliance/renewal period.
Online certification exams are closed book. Course materials are not available while the exam is in progress. The final exam must be passed with a score of 70% or higher to receive CE credit. If the exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.
All property and casualty licenses expire April 30 in odd-numbered years and all life, health and accident licenses expire April 30 in even-numbered years regardless of the of the date of issuance.
The Department will continue to offer online renewals on its website for both resident and non-resident licensees.
You may carry over 10 hours of Property and Casualty CE and 10 hours of Life, Health and Accident CE.
Report within 30 days of completion. Need Agent’s license number to report.
Individuals acting as instructors for continuing education courses receive the same amount of CE credit as his or her students receive for taking the class.
Anyone sixty five years or older on or before January 1, 2012, who has at least 15 years of experience as a licensed producer, shall be exempt from continuing education. Producers who reach age 65 after January 1, 2012, will not qualify for the exemption from continuing education. If a producer is exempt prior to January 1, 2012, they will continue to maintain the exemption.
Acceptable Training Methods
- Online (Internet Delivery)
- Correspondence (Print)
- Company Seminars
- CBT/CD-ROM (Computer-Based Training)
This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.
View our Louisiana Total Access CE options:
Total Access CE
Recommended - 80+ Courses
Total Access CE from Kaplan Financial Education lets you take all the online continuing education courses you want for one price.
Life & Health
Total Access CE
Access to 45+ Courses
Total Access CE - Life & Health lets you take all the online continuing education courses you want for one price.
Property & Casualty
Total Access CE
Access to 50+ Courses
Total Access CE - Property & Casualty lets you take all the online continuing education courses you want for one price.
Total Access CE
Access to 25+ Courses
Total Access CE - Adjuster lets you take all the online continuing education courses you want for one price.