A producer with a line of authority of life or health currently authorized or who becomes authorized in the future to sell, solicit or negotiate policies issued under Kentucky’s LTC Insurance Partnership Program shall complete a one time 8-hour initial training course prior to selling, soliciting or negotiating a long-term care partnership policy. Insurers offering long-term care partnership policies shall obtain verification that producers receive such training, maintain records subject to the state’s record retention requirement, and make that verification available to the Insurance Commissioner upon request.
Each Insurer shall monitor and maintain proof that Producers receive ongoing training requirement of no less than 4 hours. The training shall cover the following topics:
Producers shall complete the ongoing training biennially according to their CE/license renewal cycle.
Kentucky licensees must complete 24 hours of continuing education every two years.
Of the 24 required hours, 6 hours must be directly related to any line of authority for which the agent is actively licensed and 3 hours must be in courses specifically approved as ethics.
CE credit will be awarded to resident licensees completing courses that have been approved for CE credit. Kentucky will reciprocate with other states where the licensee has satisfied these training requirements; therefore, training received in any state shall be deemed to satisfy the training requirements in Kentucky.
Independent and public adjusters must demonstrate proof of completion of continuing education requirements in conjunction with a license renewal. Prior to July 31, 2012 and biennially thereafter, an individual who holds an independent or public adjuster license must complete 24 hours of continuing education, including 3 hours in ethics biennially.
Agents selling flood insurance must complete a one-time 3 hour course on flood insurance and the National Flood Insurance Program. This state has issued a notice reminding licensees who sell flood insurance of their requirement to comply with the minimum training requirements established by FEMA and the National Flood Insurance Program.
There are no non-resident continuing education requirements in Kentucky provided producers have met requirements in their home state.
Course repetition is not permitted within the compliance/renewal period.
Online certification exams are closed book. Course materials are not available while the exam is in progress. The final exam must be passed with a score of 70% or higher to receive CE credit. If the exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.
A biennium begins on the first day of the month following your birth month and ends on the last day of your birth month two (2) years later.
Maximum of 12 hours may be carried over to next compliance period.
Report within 30 days of completion. Need Agent’s license number to report.
Individuals acting as instructors for continuing education courses receive the same amount of CE credit as his or her students receive for taking the class only once within a biennium.
Agents receiving renewal commissions only, upon submission and receipt of a signed affidavit attesting such, are exempt from CE requirements.
This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.