Our site will be unavailable for 5.5 hours starting on Friday, October 19th, 2018 from 11:00pm and ending at 4:30am CST on Saturday, October 20th, 2018 for maintenance. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

Kaplan University School of Professional and Continuing Education Kaplan University School of Professional and Continuing Education

Connecticut Insurance Continuing Education (CE) Requirements

153 Market Street
Hartford, CT 06103
PO Box 816
Hartford, CT 06142-0816

Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., except for State Holidays
Phone: (860) 297-3800
Toll-free Number: 1 (800) 203-3447
Email: insurance@ct.gov
Website: http://www.ct.gov/cid/site/default.asp
Transcript: https://www.sircon.com/ComplianceExpress/NonSscrbEducation/index.jsp?nonSscrb=Y&sscrbid=9999

Connecticut insurance producers must comply with Connecticut’s new Annuity Suitability regulation. Four (4) hours of annuity training must be completed prior to engaging in the sale or solicitation of annuity products.

The satisfaction of the training requirements of another state that are substantially similar to the provisions of this subsection shall be deemed to satisfy the requirements of this state (Connecticut).

The Connecticut Insurance department does not have a specific annuity course categorization.

Individuals who complete the one-time, 7-hour training program sponsored by the Connecticut Partnership Long-Term Care Program will earn 8 hours of continuing education credit that may be applied to the overall CE requirement.

NOTE: The Kaplan Financial Education LTC courses do not certify you to sell CT Partnership for LTC policies. Please contact the CT Partnership for LTC at (860) 418-6318 for information on Partnership certification requirements.

Resident Requirements

Licensees must complete 24 hours of CE every two years.
 

At least 6 hours of the total CE requirement must be taken in each line of authority held.
 

Connecticut requires all producers to complete at least 3 credit hours of Law/Regulations/Ethics every two years.
 

All Property, Casualty and Personal Lines producers must complete a one-time 3 hour course on flood insurance and the NIFP.

Non Resident Requirements

Non-resident licensees are exempt from Connecticut CE but are required to submit a renewal payment by their expiry date.

Course Repetition

Course repetition is not permitted within the compliance/renewal period.

Exam Rules

Online certification exams are closed book. Course materials are not available while the exam is in progress. The final exam must be passed with a score of 70% or higher to receive CE credit. If the exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

Proctor/Monitor Requirements

Online exams must be monitored by a disinterested third party. A disinterested third party certifies that the licensee completed the exam without assistance (i.e., closed book, no tiling, layering of screens, etc.) and is someone who has no financial interest in the success or failure of the student’s ability to maintain their license. The monitor must complete the online Declaration of Compliance. If the licensee launches the exam without a monitor present, he/she will be disqualified from receiving CE credit for the course. Completion of the Declaration of Compliance acknowledges understanding and adherence to the specific requirements outlined by the State Department of Insurance. The Declaration of Compliance is electronically transmitted to Kaplan upon completion of the exam and may be audited for compliance purposes.

Period Requirements

Producers must complete their CE requirement by their license expiration date. Your course work should be completed within 60 days before your birth date every 2 years to receive your renewed license in a timely manner.

 

Sponsors are required to report course completion rosters within 15 calendar days of course completion. Sponsors must distribute course completion certificates to all individuals who meet the requirements of the CE course within 15 calendar days of course completion.

Carryover Requirements

No CE hours may be carried over to the next CE period.

State Reporting Fees

The CT Department of Insurance requires a course reporting fee of $3.75 per course (online, self-study and classroom courses). This state reporting fee will be automatically charged to you (on the last credit card used in your account) each time you complete an online, self-study, or classroom course.

Instructor Credit

Individuals acting as instructors for continuing education courses receive the same amount of CE credit as his or her students receive for taking the class.

Acceptable Training Methods

  • Correspondence (Print)
  • Company Seminars
  • Classroom
  • CBT/CD-ROM (Computer-Based Training)
  • Online (Internet Delivery)

Notice

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.