Kaplan University School of Professional and Continuing Education Kaplan University School of Professional and Continuing Education

How to Get a Wisconsin Insurance License

After doing some research and reviewing the basics, you’ve decided to earn your license and become an insurance agent in Wisconsin. Here are the 5 steps for earning your license.

Step 1: Familiarize Yourself with the Licensing Information Handbook

What does an insurance career in Wisconsin entail? What education do you need? Do you have to be a college graduate? Are you an insurance agent in another state and would also like to be licensed in Wisconsin? Can other coursework count toward your prelicensing?

The Licensing Information Handbook from the Wisconsin Office of the Commissioner of Insurance has answers to these questions and more. You’ll find a wealth of information on the specifics of insurance licensure in Wisconsin, such as the three main types of license: intermediary, navigator, and counselor. This handbook will help you know what to expect as you go through the process.

Also helpful is this FAQ from the Office of the Commissioner of Insurance. This goes into more detail about the different types of licenses and what they enable you to do. Most likely, you’ll be trying to get an intermediary license, because that’s the one for agents and producers.

Step 2: Complete all Prelicensing Education Requirements

Before you can apply for your Wisconsin insurance license or take the exam, you need to complete prelicensing education: classroom, self-study, or a combination of both. There are different requirements for the different types of licenses, but all require 8 hours of education on the principles of insurance, general Wisconsin insurance laws, and ethics. The intermediary license requires 12 additional hours for the major and limited insurance lines: life, accident and health, property, casualty, personal, variable life/variable annuity, credit, and title. You can get more details here.

After you finish your courses, you will receive a certificate of completion from your education provider. Hang onto it—you’ll need to bring it with you when you take your licensing exam.

Step 3: Get Fingerprinted, Register for Your Exam and Study

In Wisconsin, all insurance license applicants must be fingerprinted before licensing. Giving your fingerprints will also initiate a background check. Make a fingerprint reservation with Fieldprint for the digital fingerprint. Fingerprint information is valid for 180 days.

You can’t take the exam without a reservation. Prometrics is the exam provider for Wisconsin, and you can take the exam in any of their locations in the US. To register for the line or lines of authority you have chosen, visit the Prometrics registration page for Wisconsin. Create an account and follow the step-by-step instructions to make your exam reservation. You can also call 866.370.3411, or fax or mail your application. More details about the different ways to register are available in the Licensing Information Handbook.

The fee for the exam is $75 for each line of authority. Also, when you register, be sure you use the same name that’s on the government-issued ID you plan to use at the testing center.

In preparation for the exam, you should study and practice. Prometrics offers content outlines for each test here, as well as practice exams here.

Step 4: Take the Exam and Pass

On the day of the exam, report to the exam center 30 minutes before the scheduled start time. Be sure to have your prelicensing education certificate of completion and a government ID with a photo and signature, such as a driver’s license, passport, military ID, state-issued ID card, and so on. After you show your ID and get settled, the exam will start.

At the end of the exam, you will see a completion notice on screen. A copy of your score report will be sent to your email address. The report indicates your overall score and grade, including the percentage of questions you answered correctly and whether you passed or failed. If you failed, you can take the exam again, but you’ll have to pay the fee again.

Step 5: Apply for Your License

Once you pass the exam, you have 180 days to apply for your license. If you want to apply for your license online, you can do it 48 to 72 hours after you pass by visiting the NIPR website. The application fee is $10, and there’s an additional NIPR fee of $5. The state of Wisconsin has some helpful tips you can use when applying. Generally, applications are processed 2 weeks after they’re received. You’ll receive an email notice from the licensing department with verification.

As You Pursue Your New Career

As you follow these 5 steps for successfully earning your Wisconsin insurance license, keep in mind that you will also have continuing education requirements. You’ll need to renew your license every two years, so be sure you keep up with the latest information at the Wisconsin Office of the Commissioner of Insurance.

Launch Your Insurance Career Free eBook - Kaplan Financial EducationLaunch Your Insurance Career with Confidence

As an aspiring insurance professional, wouldn’t it be great if you could sit down with a room full of successful insurance veterans and ask them for their advice? The Kaplan Financial Education team interviewed over 100 insurance professionals to develop this exclusive eBook for those who are considering the insurance industry.

Download this FREE eBook Now