On this page, you will find all of the state-specific information for Insurance CE in the state of Iowa.
Iowa Insurance Division
All insurance producers currently selling or soliciting annuity products in the state of Iowa will be required to complete a one-time, 4-hour approved continuing education course on annuity products. This is a one-time requirement and is not a condition of license renewal.
Agents must complete an initial 8-hour training course prior to selling long-term care products and 4 hours of ongoing training every 36 months thereafter. Residents may earn CE credit if the training is also approved for CE.
Producers will be required to complete the required training prior to engaging in any LTC sales activity.
Non-residents who have received 8 credits of substantially similar long-term care insurance training in the producer’s home state will be considered to have satisfied the Iowa requirement.
Producers who have taken courses previously approved for LTC training and determined to comply with the new training standards will be considered in compliance. The courses are listed on the Department's website.
This state has issued a notice reminding licensees who sell flood insurance of their requirement to comply with the minimum 3 hours of training requirements established by FEMA and the National Flood Insurance Program.
Iowa resident licensees must complete 36 hours of general CE every three years, no matter how many qualifications are held. Only 18 hours of the total requirement can be earned through self-study unless a course is part of a national designation.
Three hours of Ethics training must be included as part of the overall CE requirement.
This state has issued a notice reminding licensees who sell flood insurance of their requirement to comply with the minimum training requirements established by FEMA and the National Flood Insurance Program.
A producer who wishes to sell indexed products in Iowa must complete at least one 4-hour training course on indexed products prior to providing any advice or making any sales presentation concerning an indexed product. The training requirement applies to both resident and non-resident producers.
A non-resident producer who resides in a state or district having a continuing education requirement for insurance producers is exempt from Iowa CE requirements. Non-resident agents must comply with the LTC training for this state or another state which meets the NAIC LTC Model training outline.
Non-residents who satisfy the Annuity training requirements of another state that are similar to Iowa’s law will be deemed compliant for Iowa’s requirement.
Course repetition is not permitted within the compliance/renewal period.
Online certification exams are closed book. Course materials are not available while the exam is in progress. The final exam must be passed with a score of 70% or higher to receive CE credit. If the exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.
Exams must be monitored by a disinterested third party. A disinterested third party will not have a financial interest in the success or failure of the student’s ability to maintain their license. The monitor completes the Declaration of Compliance online and it is forwarded to Kaplan electronically. If the licensee launches the exam without a monitor present, he/she will be disqualified from receiving CE credit for the course.
Period Criteria Requirements
CE requirements must be completed prior to the expiration date on the license. Renewal date is the last day of the licensee’s birth month, every 3 years.
Your CE credits should be completed and banked with Iowa by Kaplan Financial Education no later than the 22nd of your month of license expiration.
Carryover Criteria Requirements
Carryover of CE hours is not permitted.
Report within 15 days of completion. Need Agent’s NPN (National Producer Number) to report.
State Reporting Fees
The IA Department of Insurance requires a course reporting fee of $1.00 per credit hour (online, self-study and classroom courses). This state reporting fee will be automatically charged to you (on the last credit card used in your account) each time you complete an online, self-study, or classroom course.
Individuals acting as instructors for continuing education courses receive the same amount of CE credit as his or her students receive for taking the class.
Licensed attorneys who are also insurance producers are exempt from IA insurance CE requirements if they submit proof of completion of continuing legal education for the appropriate calendar years during the CE term and pay the CE renewal fee.
A producer who is licensed for credit (18), crop (4), or surety (5). This producer need not report CE credits but must pay the appropriate fee to renew the license.
Acceptable Training Methods
This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.